Chaos Attraction

Too Alike

2008-05-27, 1:09 p.m.

So...happily, I didn't spend the entire weekend picking Mom up off the floor. (Jackie canceled on the get-together for this weekend due to her own family stuff, so I was kind of relieved not to have to juggle.) It wasn't bad, all things considered. Mostly got Mom distracted with more shopping. And having her go over to her friend's house to play. And doing various tarot card readings for Mom and her friend and her friend's kid. And going to the movies (loved Indiana 4, Narnia 2 is ok). Yay distraction.

I managed to get her to NOT call him (he's already ignoring her messages, so guess how that would go), though I suspect she'll be calling him by like, today now that I am not there to stop her. She wants some of the stuff she gave him back, but I was all, "yeah, right, he's keeping it."

It's so bizarre to see her like this. I know she probably hasn't had Those Kinds Of Feelings for anyone since her teen years, i.e. when she told her boyfriend she loved him and he promptly disappeared and was never seen again until he found out Mom was marrying someone else. (I told this story to Mom's friend and she was quite horrified.) And all things considered, she probably never matured past that point in life. That said, seeing her at 58 acting the way I did when I was 21...yikes. It's been awhile since I had to give anyone the talk about how Dead To Me works, how he probably won't come crawling back, etc. I don't even remember what it was like to be brokenhearted any more, but I still know what you're supposed to do.

Today she keeps e-mailing me with sentences like "Shoot me now" and "I want a lobotomy." It's downright scary how alike we are when it comes to dating sometimes.

I can't wait until Friday. For one thing, payday. For another thing, May has been a long, long, looooooooong month for me. I look forward to its end.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com