Chaos Attraction

Countdown

2006-05-28, 10:53 a.m.

So, when's Dad going to die? Mom actually asked this question on her own initiative at the doctor's meeting on Friday.

His answer was, "The longest I have had a ventilator patient survive was 16 months."

Dad's at 10 right now.

So... at the latest by that estimate, November.

I find this hard to believe, somehow. Like, it's not going to drag out until 2007? You're sure? Course, I guess he could be a "MIRACLE!!!" and slough it out a few months longer or something there, just in time to die for the holidays.

I am glad I didn't decide to move this year, because what happens if he starts to really go around moving day? I'd be screwed on that. ("Sorry, dying dad, can't move my shit out for the new tenant" wouldn't fly, I think.) On the other hand, I think it's safe to say that I won't be taking a summer vacation this year after all. (Though admittedly, with the way my work schedule's going I wasn't all that sure when I'd be able to take time off anyway.) Probably have to use my vacation time in order to scrape Mom off the floor instead anyway.

Speaking of, she seems to be taking it "well" so far, but who knows how long that'll last. Mostly we've been busy here doing errands and haven't exactly been sitting around dwelling or anything.

Really, to me it sounds just too "good to be true," that the long 9-year-nightmare could finally be ending within six months.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com