Chaos Attraction

Catching Up With Melinda

2021-05-28, 9:54 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
I Hate Service - 2021-06-02
My Son's Right There - 2021-06-01
No Karaoke - 2021-05-31
Extreme Heat - 2021-05-30
Mom Visits - 2021-05-29

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I note that my jerk coworker whose last day is today (a) quit the work Slack channel yesterday, and (b) we did not have any kind of goodbye party for him. I assume because he didn't want one because FUCK Y'ALL. Fine by me! I didn't sign his card either! Bon voyage and I hope the virtual door smacks you in your arrogant ass on the way out!

For an office that would give me shit for going on vacation, and how only one person at a time would be allowed out of my unit, how come like a third of the office is using vacation time at the end of this week/beginning of next week? Since when is that allowed? Not that I have anywhere to go this weekend other than the ice cream store, mind you, but it makes you wonder.

This morning my coworker Teresa held a "let's talk about your favorite books" meeting. She feels the same way about book clubs as I do, i.e. "don't tell me what to read," so she talked about the Belgarion series and then....everyone else talked about Serious Literachoor and I kept my mouth shut since I hate that stuff. Much to my shock, one of our younger employees (note: the ones in this meeting are probably around age 20) said his favorite books were Frankenstein and O Pioneers! Not to diss the guy, but really? What young'un likes The Classics and isn't Rory Gilmore? The other one said he doesn't read for fun, causing Teresa to CONSPICUOUSLY CHOKE. He also forgot the book, so he just drew the title of the book that he'd been reading for over a year.

On a related note, I read a few blog posts of late about liking reading and then hating it specifically because of hating all the Great Literature she had to read in school, and another English major saying most of it was boring and it was only interesting if it was a trashfire.

Today Lioness busted into our Zoom meeting to announce that she made up a rotating schedule for everyone to come back to the office and do, and what do we think????? Mostly nobody said anything. I would like the idea (and presumed that management would probably do something similar) except what happens when something goes wrong? I tried to say, "What happens when someone calls in sick?" and she was all (a) nobody calls in sick, except for when I was vomiting last week, and (b) we'll all just trade with each other, wheeeeee! You know what I smell here? Someone calling me at 7 a.m. to say "Lioness called in sick, can you physically come into the office today?" Like, a lot.) Yeah, as usual, keep your mouth shut, Jen.

After work, I wandered the parks of town looking for where to go yarnbomb for Love Across the USA. I finished two yesterday but wanted to do a third, for some reason. Melinda called while I was doing this and we talked for an hour-ish, I finished my third yarnbomb, and ended up adding one to a tree by a hidden picnic table in the park.

Melinda is doing well: got her first shot, should be in the clear by end of June so we can try to get together then. Mostly she has finally gone to meet her Internet boyfriend in Dubai in person and everything went swimmingly! Even better in a sense, he finally got a new hotel job and could quit his terrifying shitty old one. Like seriously, his old job stopped feeding and paying people level of bad. This place actually gives him a paycheck on a consistent basis and time off after he works overtime and he has nice roommates. So, huzzah for all of that!

I had to say yes, you were right about Scott, SIGH. Blech. Did not enjoy that. She was all, you want someone who wants you. True, but WHERE THE HELL DO I FIND SOMEONE WHO WANTS ME THAT I WOULD WANT BACK? This--having someone who mildly liked me, I guess--is as close as I've gotten in 17 bloody years. She's all "don't settle" (because seriously, her ex-husband...yeah, she knows, she said he wants to just quit working and do nothing for the rest of his life so he's selling the family home), but man, I'm about ready since 17 years of waiting for "just the right fit" has not panned out. I did tell her about talking to the psychic and she was all "yeah, that lines up." I asked if she's talked to Wendy the seer about her "this will happen sooner than you think" prediction regarding her boyfriend finally making it to America and Wendy was more like, it'll happen unexpectedly. Though come on, it involves a visa, how unexpected would that be...oh well.

She thinks I should quit the Craft Center, period. I know, I know. I just don't want to say it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com