Chaos Attraction

Mom Visits

2021-05-29, 9:57 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
A Crap Day - 2021-05-03
I Hate Service - 2021-06-02
My Son's Right There - 2021-06-01
No Karaoke - 2021-05-31
Extreme Heat - 2021-05-30

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Long but fun day. I went to the Farmers Market because Ashley was supposedly working that day, but she wasn't there. I hadn't been there since March 2020 (hah, also because of Ashley), but at this point it's about the same except for all the masks (required) and the mask sales booths. I saw a booth with adorable rainbow masks and obviously I was dressed for it, but sadly they were all over-ears-only and those fall off me, so. I asked Mom if she wanted any stuff and she asked for apricots and peaches, so I got that. I got myself some cheesy bread, which I could smell even through the mask. That was delicious. I also got myself some apple juice, which was...bizarrely less good, somehow? I don't know what happened to that in a year. I then went home and had a snack, which was probably a good idea since Mom had some kind of "trying to beat the traffic and just got lost" snafu and didn't get here till 12:30.

We went to Fenton's, which was outdoors and delicious, and then to Krispy Kreme. Free donut #5 for me. Roger finished up late, so I brought Mom to my house and introduced her to That Iceland Band that I kept going on about at lunch--I think I DO want to make one of those sweaters. She seemed to think their music videos were pretty cute. Then I ended up showing her my most recent recordings of Tailwind (the 10 minute farting play) and the first ten minutes or so of the suffragist play and she really liked those. Laughed at the farting play, and as for the other one she said, "I love how you are when you are in these plays! You are just so true to yourself!" I'm not sure what to make of this, exactly? I'm not sure what she thinks of my acting skills. She said when I was Martha Arable I wasn't myself (well, duh, I'm a farmwife, sadly no rainbow outfit) but this was. So she just wants me playing me, then? Unclear. Ah well, at least she liked it.

In related news, Kelly found a listing for a fringe festival specifically looking for full length online plays to be done in August. And we shall definitely be ready for that! I'm not sure if we'd count as Innovative or Social Media Enough! for them, but I'll leave that to Kelly to figure out. (I have certainly learned that getting super tricky with what you're doing online is not always great, anyway.) I also think I just tend to read job descriptions/calls for submissions/whatever as a 100% checklist: we want things from A to Z and I only have A through Q, so I guess I'm not good enough.

After Mom and Roger left, I actually went back into the library again, as it has reopened...with shorter hours, limiting the people, etc. I got there about 5 and they closed at 5:30, so they didn't have too many in there anyway. It was very quiet, very dark, very empty, very undecorated. Sigh. That said, I think I found seven books in about 15 minutes. Then I spent a few hours hiking through the greenbelt looking for places to yarnbomb my remaining Love Across The USA things. It was a good day to do it because it wasn't that hot, there weren't that many people about, and it's supposed to be hotter the rest of the weekend.

Ironically, while I was doing this: (a) I got a phone call from Marty asking if I want to come up with some yarn bombs for an event in Sacramento in a few weeks. I wouldn't be able to attend the event because of work, but she could pick up my thing and take it over. Sold! (b) While I was on the phone with Marty, I came across the cool yarn bombed area in the greenbelt...and the gardener was in there. I asked about the yarn bomb and she said it was done by friends of hers that they already had around!

By the time I got home, I was actually tired and it turned out I did 17100 steps today! DAMN I think that's the most ever. I didn't think it was THAT much because in the morning I just went to the Farmer's Market and back (15 minute each way), and then probably did a 15-20 minute walk to Krispy Kreme and then the rest of it was going through the parks and greenbelt looking for places to put up yarn bombs. My back actually kinda hurts somehow--I was wandering around with a backpack on but it just had yarn in it, not even very heavy.

I may go to bed even earlier tonight....


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com