Chaos Attraction

The Play That Goes Wrong

2022-05-29, 4:24 p.m.

I didn't fall asleep (of course), but did eventually go to the Sacramento County Fair, which was mildly fun. I spent about two hours at it, looking at animals, looking at the dinosaurs-and-lizards exhibit, watching duck and pig races, did a wee bit of shopping. I bought a rainbow peacock dress. I note they had hardly any crafts at all at this thing (Dixon had more!), which is sad. I didn't even photograph any. I was pretty amused at the dinosaurs-and-lizards, though. There was a random snake sitting on a table unattended that was quietly about to wiggle itself off the table and everyone standing around was all "um....the snake?" The snake managed to save its own self and fold over and wiggle itself back onto the table again.

While there I saw a goat named Sage. The Sage I know raises goats in 4-H, so I sent them the picture and they were all "That's the kind of goat I raise!" So cute. So I sent a few more cute photos of things and lizards (their thing, for sure) and felt a wee bit bad that they were interested in going but still recovering from Covid. I was all "hey, I can send pics..." So that was cute.

After that, I drove to Folsom and shopped around for a few hours. I bought a fabulous Guatemalan vest with FOUR pockets in it, both on the fronts and on the inside, and a lovely butterfly shirt.

Then I went to The Play That Goes Wrong. Also in attendance were the Winters/TnT group of Nancy/Steve, Linda/Elliott and Jean/Sarah. The latter two were preoccupied with planning some family party for tomorrow (I gather it wasn't going well?) and didn't say/do much, but I did hear Jean say that the director of Bye Bye Birdie has had covid and they were trying to rehearse over Zoom and it wasn't going well.

The Play That Goes Wrong (featuring Mark from TnT and another Erik I know from work...not my coworker though) was marvelous. It's Noises Off: The Mystery Show, basically. Sets falling down, actresses getting knocked in the head, the stage manager having to go out and perform the lead actress's part extremely poorly, everyone repeatedly having to drink paint thinner and pretend it's delicious, the swords both break and they have an imaginary sword fight, the dog goes missing so they pretend there's an invisible dog, the corpse at the beginning of the show continues to walk around a lot and eventually be alive in act 2, another guy (Mark) gets stabbed with the imaginary sword and he starts throwing around red ribbons like he's been gutted..."getting to break the fourth wall," he said after the show.

This is a SUPER COMPLICATED SHOW and they are doing it on a very small stage. It was flabbergasting. And they were doing it in repertory with a kids show so they had to switch back and forth! And put all the broken props back every night! And seriously risking their lives, according to Mark. "We had a safeword" in case someone got REALLY injured, he said. I asked what it was and he said "cabbage, because who's going to be saying cabbage?"

I also note they have "Mr. HEPA," a $5000 HEPA filter in their theater and they said if you were masked/vaccinated you had something like a 0.002% chance of catching covid there. Since I heard from Mark that their cast had a bout of covid, I wonder if this came after that? Hmmmm.

After that, Jean and Sarah disappeared into the ether, and the rest of us were looking for a place to eat and almost all of Sutter Street shuts down at 5 p.m. on Sunday, apparently. We ended up at The Fat Rabbit, where I heard about all of the other four's travel adventures. Since I go nowhere, I was all "Oh yeah, I've been to Temecula and Bend!" LOL.

On a related note, Linda and Elliot went on African safari. Of course there was covid. Linda caught it, Elliot did not. Linda said she thinks someone fudged their test results to get them on a plane because she was testing negative before and after she flew. She said she only started feeling totally better again a few days ago. So I guess our play getting postponed worked out for her, at least! I'm still horrified at the idea of doing a fancy trip during covid, to be honest.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com