Chaos Attraction

Extreme Heat

2021-05-30, 10:01 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Evil Bee Sting - 2021-06-04
A Crap Day - 2021-05-03
I Hate Service - 2021-06-02
My Son's Right There - 2021-06-01
No Karaoke - 2021-05-31

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Collage group actually went on today, with Jade and Meg at least. I didn't really take notes during the thing, mostly we just talked about future goals for the next six months. Meg went on about the family farm, that she hasn't been to in 4+ years because her alcoholic cusses-people-out brother lives there and his SO has tried to get Meg kicked out before. Oy, her siblings, I swear. I'm glad Meg doesn't drink. But I don't think I'd want to go there as long as he's alive (I note he's dying), given the circumstances. Jade's ah, denture man asked her out for the future, more or less.

God, it must be nice to have someone actually want to be with you that you want to be with.

After we finished up around 2:30, I went outside to go walking. It's Extreme Heat Days today and tomorrow--102 today and 105 (OY) tomorrow, so I figured I'd better go out while I still can, in the shadiest of areas, but it was still fairly bad and I went home probably within less than an hour.

I decided to hang out on my patio in the shade and knit, and Reggie came over for a bit while his wife was napping. He read me some of his poetry--he's really good but definitely seems to be insecure about it, at one point dramatically chucking his book. I didn't super react to that, so he was fine. He wrote a poem for me (no, not like that), which said I was "unique as a green pea" and also compared me to a Chia Pet. I'm not sure on that last one there :P He did say he loves me as a neighbor and as a human. Awww, that's sweet. We talked about how I deserve better with regards to dudes--certainly true. Unfortunately, what you deserve doesn't mean that's what you get....

Other than that, I have nothing else to say about today, other than it was hot but relaxing. I checked out a book from Arne and Carlos that has 8 more egg patterns in it, so I made two today. I have a long list of wannado projects now: eggs, yarn bomb, stuffed unicorn I bought last week, the Iceland sweater I need to design *, finishing the damn shawl, finishing Mom's hat--around halfway with that-- etc., etc. Usually I don't have more than 1-2 going at a time, so this is excessive.

Fun fact: I cannot get my favorite brand of yarn, Caron Simply Soft, ANYWHERE at Joann's any more. They are literally out of everything. The fuck. I have been ordering from Amazon to get mine during the pandemic, usually in sets of three. I discovered today that it WILL NOT LET ME ORDER FOUR BALLS, or even one ball, separately. It's either a 3-pack or NO DELIVERY. The fuck? I even debated going back to Scott's store to look around for a good teal, but their website said they only had 4 balls of teal and I would have needed six for the amount of yarn they came in (200+ yards, while Caron comes in 300+). Also, y'know, I don't want to go in there.
Yesterday while we were in Vacaville we had a lot of time sitting around in the restaurant and I started reading Vacaville magazine and they had an article in there about how his street that got burned down by the fires was recovering, they'd had some kind of fundraiser last weekend, blah de blah. Ugh. I felt sad again. I kept having him pop up in random places in my brain.

Like I'm rather obsessed with the Dadi (Iceland) band and decided I do want to make a sweater like theirs even though it might be kind of boring/obscure/hot for a Halloween costume. I could just wear it around the office (sigh...the office) and be in a stealth costume and nobody knows about it. Anyway, then I thought, "wouldn't it be fun to do a group costume?" and then thought YEAH RIGHT, THAT'S NEVER GONNA HAPPEN and even if I could get 1-2 people I could never get six and .... argh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com