Chaos Attraction

Murder Mystery Training 2

2022-05-04, 3:23 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
HR Is Terrible - 2022-05-09
Don't Judge Me - 2022-05-08
It Certainly Was...Stuff... - 2022-05-07
A Lot Of People Issues Today - 2022-05-06
May Fair - 2022-05-05

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: in office again for the fourth work day in a row, what a drag. (At least I go back to WFH for the next five workdays and go back to my usual Thurs/Fri in office schedule again for awhile.) Workwise, the Quarterly Project has kicked off again and is going fast and well because this is the shortest list of the bunch, I dealt with mail, emails, blah de blah.

Funny moment in the meeting, of sorts: we have a Character Limit Problem that has been there the entire 20 years I have been here. TWENTY YEARS OF PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT THEIR NAMES BEING CUT OFF. TPTB (i.e. Grandboss) have found out that (a) the character limit thing is arbitrary in the database and they COULD have 30 per first and last name if they wanted to, but (b) the techies claim it will break computer systems if they do that. So this will never get fixed. However, now there's the whole "preferred name" thing and "supposedly" the character limit thing might come up with this. "I'm hoping this gets fixed by the time I retire in seven years," Grandboss said. I think seven years is ridiculously optimistic around here. Like fifty years from now I expect they'll still have this issue.

Though on the other hand, I got swag: I went on a Giant Org walk at lunch and got a free shirt from 2020 (har har) and a water bottle holder. Giant Org bought us all jackets for some reason, so I got mine today. Admittedly, it's navy blue and plainer than my usual preference (I note I'm dressed as a peacock today) so I will probably just keep it in the car as a spare. I found some flowers randomly on campus and then saw that some people were handing them out. Very sweet.

Yesterday I walked past a church-y organization across the street from work that periodically has some kind of write-on board hanging from a tree, and someone wrote on it that their bunny was lost. I put out a prayer to St. Francis to well, assist (har har) and today when I walked by, they wrote that the bunny was found! Yaaaaaay! People wrote back "Yay!" type messages (one drew a bunny and then wrote "not to scale") and I added that praying to St. Francis works! That's my third concrete example of "pray for a pet to be found and by god, the pet turned up" that I can confirm for sure, though I know I've seen some lost pet posters come down before after I've done that one.

And then after THAT I found some signs...another heart thing (a broken plastic candy heart ring) by the bunny board, and then a random key. I did a brief prayer to St. Anthony to find the owner of it and instead got this "pick it up" feeling, which was weird. As in ... key to his heart? Hmmmm. And then a car drove by me with some kind of "unconditional love" ad on it.

All these signs and still no love? I've even tried praying to other romantic saints (since St. Francis does so great and St. Anthony seems to do things when he can) and NO DICE yet.


Murder mystery training tonight was practicing our improvisation as characters, both during introductions and during people asking us questions, then being introduced to all the props/paperwork/sound system stuff they use at shows, and, no joke, practicing picking up a "dead" body. Emeri noted that the company shopped around various funeral-y sites trying to figure out the best method of carrying, which attracted the attention of ...somebody....wondering why they were disposing of bodies...har har. Anyway, it's basically a large sling, you fall down on your back, you get rolled into the sling, you kind of sit up and "crunch" your stomach a bit while the other person drags you out. Not the most fun for ladies dragging gents, but technically doable and the sling thing is designed for small people use, she said.

(That guy from my audition never did turn up. I wonder if he bailed because of the time factor? I do note that we had one addition, Emeri's boyfriend Brandon who already works for the company. He has a bunch of gamer tattoos, which makes me wonder if that's an issue for shows or if he just wears suits or whatever. That'd be a lot of Dermablend on a hairy guy arm, just saying.)

We were all assigned characters from the "Masquerade" show to play tonight, I was quite pleased to be assigned Bertha Peacock, who's having an affair with the murder victim. Of course I dressed in my peacock dress for the part, couldn't resist :) I was amused that Noah, playing my husband Mort, was absolutely deadpan and boooring in the role, as one should be. It was fun. We switched off playing characters and playing guests asking characters stuff as well.

I have a one-on-one on Zoom next Monday with Emeri. We shall see if my tech issues are worked out by then because I tried to access the website and it blanks out and gives me a white page no matter what I do, what computer or monitor I try, after like 2 seconds of logging in. I feel like it's a cache issue but it's literally my first time logging on, on multiple machines? (Right now it's just circling.) Brandon said it was doing the same to him and he's in it all the time, and the tech person said I wasn't the only one with the issue either. So hopefully they figure out something because I'd be curious to log in and see how it goes. I am tentatively scheduled for late June, so we'll see.

Mostly what's annoying is that it sounds like the shows so far are all in the Bay Area and not too many are going on around here. My impression is that there's two "hubs" of Sacramento and San Jose and there's not too many people in the SJ area for that. They don't really know how things are going to go since they are starting up again after years of pandemic. I said um, pretty much weekends for me starting in June, we'll see. She said you express interest in a show and then she casts from the people who did, you may understudy if you're not assigned to anything. We shall see next month, I suppose.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com