Chaos Attraction

Evil Bee Sting

2021-06-04, 10:13 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Work Dilemma - 2021-06-10
More Yarn Bombing - 2021-06-08
Two Pigs - 2021-06-07
I'm Over Meditation - 2021-06-06
Silly Rehearsal Lines - 2021-06-05

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Circa 8:30 or so in a Zoom meeting, my boss is all "maybe you need to go to the hospital?" regarding my foot. Me: "nah, it's fine." Circa 9:30 or so a.m. my foot has gotten even worse and the boils and pus are...spreading....and oh yeah, it's a FRIDAY and if this shit gets worse over the weekend....So I looked for an emergency appointment, booked one at 10:10, and fled outta there.

I was out for nearly 3 hours. The doctor was all "never seen that before, calling a dermatologist," who determined that no, it's probably not anaphylactic shock after 3 days, does appear to be some kind of freak reaction though, PROBABLY not infected with anything yet. So I got a prescription for some kind of cream and now have a prescription on file for antibiotics if things get worse over the weekend that I would have to drive out of town to get because this joint closes on weekends, but at least I won't have to go to the ER. The nurse in particular was awesome on this score. I have a lot of packing materials, am told to wash it twice a day, take Claritin/Benadryl, put my foot up, contact them if it gets worse....The nurse drew on me with a "tattoo pen" (basically everything below the ankle is swollen) and said if the swelling goes beyond those points, call somebody. Oh yeah, and now I have one of those post-surgery/broken leg/whatever shoes that is even harder to walk in than before!

So that was the morning. The afternoon was just nothing but fucking drama. Half the office was out (I pointed out to Hope that this is exactly why I say we're not going to be allowed to do hybrid, she was all "we never had half the office call out at my old job," I was all "THIS HAPPENS ALL THE FUCKING TIME HERE." When you have 5 people only and 3 call out....'nuff said.), so obviously I had to be back covering people's questions. And in addition to just a lot of people sending stuff, we had a hard and fast deadline for a lot of shit yesterday and a lot of people being all "Can I get an exception?" or "My computer crashed at the last minute!" Uh....nope? Maybe don't do shit at the dead last minute, then?

And then EVEN WORSE: a few weeks ago we had drama about one department forgetting to send in their thing on time (they were a day late) and then someone throwing a shit fit the next morning because she couldn't get stuff for her new job. Well guess what: SHE'S BACK AGAIN, throwing a shit fit over the same thing because some of her info is wrong for some reason, and she's blaming our office and is going to lose her job (again). And calling multiple times and screaming at whoever answers the phone. And demanding supervisors. And threatening to sue. And scaring at least one person she talked to today.

(I will note that nobody from this office had contacted us saying they were having problems, so this was entirely new to us. So literally we knew NOTHING about this. I hadn't heard from these people since the last drama, i.e. weeks ago. So I would have nothing to say other than "welp, this is news to us, and no, we're not just sitting on our asses ignoring your plight, we literally have nothing to work on for you, and THEY need to contact US at this point because we don't know what's going on, and maybe call them first next time?")

And then she started demanding to talk to someone in my unit, which I completely ignored because it was my boss's shift to man the question Slack, and then boss was all "I can't man it, can you do it?" I just completely ignored the phone request because I sure as fuck don't want to be yelled at and I knew nothing and I'd just get myself fired for my phone behavior. I would really like to put off my next writeup until after my yearly review is over, thanks!

(This sounds utterly shitty of me, and it is. But I don't get in trouble for not getting to every single thing in the pile, and I DO get in trouble for tackling shit I have no clue on. I've found that ignoring anything I have no clue on and leaving it to someone else with a better reputation to figure out is really paying off.)

I did contact Other Office, who eventually wrote back to say that they contacted her....and yes, they do need help, lots of it, which they dropped on me at 4:50 p.m. Greaaaat. Well, I don't do overtime in this job, so so much for that today. The head of the office actually left me a phone message apology for that girl's behavior, and I get the feeling that she's going completely psychotic on them too, the word "shaking" was mentioned. Also that the girl isn't listening to jack shit, phrased more politely than that. Greaaaaaat.

Now, she's not wrong to be upset at all of this shit, but uh.... this is extreme. I feel very sorry for her new job. She'll sue us, me included, if she doesn't get it, so I have to hope that she gets it and keeps it, but I bet they regret hiring her if she screams at the employees the way she does us.


After work, while drinking and putting my foot up, I watched "Juliet and Romeo," an online performance about a director guy who hates the end of the play. Me too, bro! Great online staging, I must say.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com