Chaos Attraction

I Wish I Knew

2022-06-05, 10:06 p.m.

Last night: went to karaoke with Jim and Ashley at UOB, had a good time. Sat outside so I didn't feel guilty, Jim got us Jack in the Box (yum) and apple cider (ditto) and had a good time singing and being amused by other people.

Today: took Loretta to Scott's store. She got some needles and I picked out some yarn to make an overcoat (used my gift certificate, finally). He wasn't in when we got there and I wondered if he'd be in at all and was kind of bummed out about that, but he finally came in when I was buying stuff and hugged me upon entering and leaving. He appears to be growing back the beard (sigh...), said he's totally recovered from Covid, otherwise working on barbershop quartet-ing, is definitely doing Beauty and the Beast/can't audition for Midsummer anyway. I did talk to his mom for awhile about what craft stuff we are working on and I was amused when she said that her husband keeps interrupting her. Like to do stuff? No, just asking what she's working on. It was rather cute, actually?

On our way out the door, a lady fell down, and the family had it nailed down as to what to do when someone falls: get the LEATHER chair, get a blanket for the knees, Scott went off to get a Band-Aid...apparently they had quite a routine set up with his grandma back in the day. (In retrospect, this does kinda explain his reaction every time I trip around him.) But seriously, these people are just so sweet...Loretta and I were all "why couldn't we have parents like that?"

She said he seemed nice and that he liked me and talked to me and hugged me and things. Why doesn't he like me back again, she asked, and have I ever asked him out? Heck if I know and yes....sigh. Seriously, I just wish I knew what the problem was and if it was surmountable (well, apparently not to him, I guess?). Like if you think I'm gonna run off screaming, I'm probably not, but we could check, I suppose :P

Well, that went about as well as that could go, I think. I bought this book this weekend and read it yesterday about trying to focus on the positive about what was going well in the relationship and reasons why it might actually work out, so I have been trying to do so.

After that, we went to Michael's and Joann's again but didn't get anything, went to Target and Safeway to pick up stuff, then went home. I went to go see if they had rainbow merch at Target ("it's June," the clerk said....I will also note that Loretta was in a rainbow tie-dyed shirt and rainbow mask) and went home with black shorts with rainbow stripes and a pastelly rainbow sweat suit, in addition to other necessary goods. Seriously, I just keep on shopping and I need to cool it. This is prepandemic behavior here.

After I got home, I felt tired, still couldn't sleep for shit, then watched "The Look Back Diaries" (Lizzie Bennet rewatch!) and cross stitched, yet again.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com