Chaos Attraction

Perking Up A Bad Day

2011-06-07, 8:26 a.m.

Yesterday was kind of a crap day for most of it. I had to go to the dentist--nothing bad, but 45 minutes of having your teeth scraped is never a joy. I got like 9 viruses on my computer at work and had to completely restart everything over after it got fixed. (At least I wasn't the only one, apparently two other people got it too.) I didn't sleep all damn night again because I had Lady Gaga rolling through my head for half the night and Britney Spears through the other half. Yes, I like "Born This Way" well enough, but "Don't be a drag, just be a queen" rolling through your head on repeat 50 billion times WILL MAKE YOU CRAZY.

And then there was The Thing. I got asked on Friday to do something over the weekend that I didn't want to do whatsobloodyever (for purposes of covering my ass, I'm not gonna say what-- I contributed to a project, but I didn't want to go as far with it as they wanted me to), but I also knew they weren't going to stop nagging me to do it either. They said it had to be done by Sunday night, so I flat out lied and said, "Out of town all weekend! Sorry!" Then of course I felt guilty for the flat out lying when I knew I was totally available and free all weekend (which is to say, I bailed on one invitation and the other flaked anyway). But I figured since they said it had to be done by Sunday, I was off the hook without having to get into an unpleasant argument.

Nope! Then they were all, "Monday?" And of course, Monday is harder to duck, for obvious reasons. So okay, FINE, I started cooperating, totally dreading doing the thing...and then at the last minute, they flaked on me! Yesssssssssss!

And that's when I realized that there was nothing quite like the feeling of FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE that comes from suddenly not having to do something you've been dreading for 4 days. I'm not free from anything else in my life, I've been in kind of a shit spiral for most of the last month and none of that stuff is getting fixed any time soon, but for the rest of the afternoon and night, I was in a good mood again. It was nice.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com