Chaos Attraction

Work Dilemma

2021-06-10, 10:26 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Another Office Trainwreck - 2021-06-15
Love Karaoke, Hate Work - 2021-06-14
Online Cons - 2021-06-13
Me, the Knitting, and the Cockroaches - 2021-06-12
I Just Emailed - 2021-06-11

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Today's fun work dilemma:

(a) Tech team supposedly sent a comm to circa 500 international clientele warning them about the dangers of international mail, last week.

(b) We did not get any kind of email confirming this was sent. After it goes out I usually get a shit ton of panicky emails for at least 36 hours. This did not happen.

(c) After a few days, I reported this to my supervisor, who checked with the tech team and was told "It was sent, they just forgot to email you." It shows as sent on the calendar. But uh, I got maybe one possible response from the clientele list--I got permission to email that ONE person and ask if they got the comm. They never wrote back.

(d) I STRONGLY SUSPECT THIS DID NOT WORK. But at this point, I can't say anything because "they said they did it." And "maybe people are busy." Bullshit. We get avalanches of emails when that thing goes out, even during slow periods. I don't buy it. But I shot my shot. I can't keep asking and suspecting.

(e) However. I do have the list of 500 people. And I had an hour of time today where every other darn thing had been done and I had nothing to work on but mailing addresses anyway. So I emailed about 50 people individually myself....and got immediate responses from some of them. Again, I am 99.9% sure this comm did not go out, as this was clearly Fresh News to all of the ones that wrote back.

This leads to a fun ethical dilemma:

On the one hand, this is going to be hours and hours of work to continue to write 450-ish people on my own. My boss does not like it when I email shit tons of people individually (note: she's out of the office right now though). I concur that theoretically technology should have handled this. Except it didn't. And there will be MONTHS of agony, drama, expense, and yelling when 500 people don't get their stuff in the mail. It's literally worth spending hours of my own time to email them all now, and I probably won't be caught/In Trouble for emailing people individually unless I fess up to doing so (say, admitting that I emailed 50 people).

On the other hand, my name is mud at work, "they said they did it," and I am trying very hard to not get written up before my next review. I can't socially afford to stand up, speak out, and be insistent that no, clearly the comm did not go out because we normally get more responses than that, and I don't CARE what time of the year we sent the comm out at, and when I just emailed people personally I immediately got responses and I bet if I asked them if they got the comm they would say no! (I was told I could ask ONE person....not ask another 50, I suppose.)

So....450 emails to go, when I have the free time, I guess.

I also had to cc Grandboss on some weird question that I normally would have referred to my boss--someone was all "please give me advice" on something I categorically should not be giving advice on and they seemed to be asking something hinky--and Grandboss instead latched onto "why did you say you couldn't process it right away?" Me: "Because boss said to wait until all the info was in the computer first." (Unfortunately, Vaguely Hinky Thing sounds like it may be holding up all of the info being put into the computer.) Guess which one of those two things she's likely to harp on tomorrow? Not the thing that actually needs advising on....

It's another Stitches weekend and they gave me a free Market ticket, so even though I'm not taking any classes, I can drop in on a few things, like the pre-show chat tonight. Fun textile quotes!

"This is fine, I'm just going to look at the ducks." -Benjamin, one of the show people "And then there's my partner, who makes inappropriate comments. That's her job." -Benjamin "This is our rescue dog, Bacon." -an instructor, Carol "We put the fun back in dysfunction." -Benjamin "Entrelac, better than Lego." -instructor Laura, trying to show off her rainbow project "Yes, I'm getting yelled at for having the TV on. That was for effect, to get the husband to jump." -Karen, who holds up a glass that says "The Good Shit." "You know this is being recorded, Karen." "Yeah, but only for my benefit." -Benjamin "Knit with the good shit." -someone "You just want to roll around in it!" -Jan, swooning over her yarn "I MADE THAT SHIT." -Teresa. "Isn't it surprising that we're excited to schedule dentist appointments?" -Teresa "The real reason why we're not in person is because Benjamin knows I'd show up." -Teresa After Benjamin says they're taking a break in December: "It's because that's my birthday and you didn't want to buy me a present." -Teresa "I blame Pepper Cory for turning me into a hand stitching ANIMAL." -Nathania "Ben watches this guy unbox vacuums all day long...." -Teresa on her vacuum-obsessed child "It's hard to get a word in edgewise here." -Zoe. "Cry me a river, New York!" -Teresa "When we got married, my husband insisted we had to live in the same house." -Zoe "For those of you who missed it, Z went out of the house twice this week." -Zoe (vaccinated but immunocompromised). "I really want someone to make food for me." "Ben will be outside your door singing Baby Shark." -Teresa. "If he's singing Baby Shark, I'll join in...If he shows up, I'll bring a Roomba." -Zoe "I keep thinking his head is a saucy noodle. I keep doing this" (brushing off) "thirty times a day." -Teresa on her Wham! shirt, how she had jaw surgery and thus drops food a lot, how she had an embroidered wedding dress so people can't see when she does it.... "I don't wear sassy." -Zoe. "I have black, black, black,...." "I just wear one shirt the whole weekend, I can't be bothered." -Teresa, who admits she may find a second shirt in rotation.

Mom called me while she was wandering the streets alone at night, something she used to give me shit for. AHEM. "Are you looking for Roger?" "No, he left before me, I don't think I'll find him, so I'll just go the opposite direction." Five minutes later, she finds him and I tell him what she said. "Well, that's pretty good thinking for your mother. It's a supreme compliment." LOL.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com