Chaos Attraction

Me, the Knitting, and the Cockroaches

2021-06-12, 10:33 p.m.

Suffragist play rehearsal: we had the sign language interpreters today, Amy and Kenya, and they were amazing and adorable. They bopped along to the music in between scenes, Kenya did some air guitar, and I got to watch them sign things like "Shitsburgh" and "It was the deuce, not the bird" and "I was born on a fucking floor!" It was delightful.
I did my costumes today and for the post-sexy scene I stripped down to a pastel tank top. With my hair down, I pretty much looked naked, which shocked everyone, heh heh heh. Then when I put my shirt back on, I had it on backward :P
Kelly did her scenes as Carol with a lollipop in her mouth, which cracked us all up. I dunno if she'll do that the rest of the time, mind you....
Quotes: Kelly: "Are you there, Marge?" Marge: "Physically. Mentally, I've been gone for the last 2 weeks. It's been wild." Kelly: "I have to commit to a lollipop." Me: "Oral fixation!" Jackie: "I do 4 hour Shakespeare plays." Carlos: "I'm a serious actor here." (He actually cried in a scene today!)

So, y'know, we had an excellent time here.

Other things watched today:

Seanan McGuire moderating a panel for TorCon.

I peeked into a bit of Clockwork Alchemy (another online con) going on this weekend (too bad I couldn't cram in more of that), a talk on Victorian technology. Then I watched a presentation by Katherine of Blue Moon Designs, who I've gotten several pocket belts from over the years. Sample quote from this on her various masks with the f-bomb on them: "I wonder if I can find fabric with fuck on it, and there were tons of choices!"

Then I switched back to Stitches to watch yarn vendors. I'm picking who to watch by the colorfulness of yarns on their websites. I watched one vendor and then I re-watched the Cochinille Design Program one again, and this time she explained how she does knitting patterns better, and this time I was all "okay, I am actually sold on this, I think I may be able to get it." I have been pondering buying this thing for 2 months since it about did everything else I wanted and I haven't been able to figure out any other way to design the fingering dress on my own. So I got it, a bit on sale, huzzah.

pajama party: bunny hoodie and bear hoodie. oh, kangaroo hoodie "I have a joey in my pocket." someoen has shrek ears on "Don't applaud while holding a (very sharp, apparently) needle in your hand." "Does everyone have a tetanus shot?" "Put a Band-Aid in your sewing kit." ":I don't normally wear earrings with pajamas, but I dont' feel like I'm dressed if I don't have giant earrings on." -kira "he thinks you're supposed to grown and moan when getitng on the floor, spin around and then grab on to the furniture. kids are awesome." -teresa's son ben imitating her getting on the floor, painfully "when I was gone for the weekend he cross stitched me an entire wall hanging for my craft room and i was all, who the hel lare you?" teresa on her husband "I have to talk to my husband, he likes me to remember that I'm married once in awhile...." Zoe "I have been trying to get into Vogue for years and all you had to do was flash that smile and those guns?" -Zoe on her husband taking a picture with his biceps and yarns, winding yarn. Teresa keeps joking she's the name ofw hoever won a prize. "So she can stop making the joke...Teresa!" "I have rescheduled my hair appointments around Stitches..." Teresa "Steph is ironing on the beach." "I still arrive 15 minutes early to get a good seat." -Teresa. "I know where my chair is, I know I'm going to be sitting in it..."

After that ended circa 9:30, I tried to go to karaoke. I walked up to the bar and they were guarding the door with bouncers, and there were a few groups of people in there and everyone was in their own little groups, and they had music playing but nobody was singing....and I just felt SO WEIRDED OUT BEING ALONE that I had to turn around and go home again. Like, I did not have the nerve to go through the bouncer, walk around in there all alone, hang out in there all alone with nothing to do but sitting there feeling weird.... Uck. What a disappointment. I really wish Sarah had responded, dammit. Now I'll never end up doing it if I can't do it alone and I can't get people.

On a random note, Mom called me up demanding my "schedule" in case something happened to me and nobody knew where I was. I was all "I'm still in the house 95% of the time, Mom, I don't really have a "schedule" other than karaoke on Mondays at this point." Oh brother.

Anyway: I got home, and it was such a nice night out weatherwise that I read out on my patio (on the phone) in the dark. Just me, the knitting, and the cockroaches, sigh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com