Chaos Attraction

This Is As Good As It Gets

2022-06-13, 7:42 p.m.

Nothing much to say about work today. Emails, addresses, boring long lists. Tomorrow, more shitty drama. The CEO of GiantOrg sent out an apology email for the weekend's drama. People on the Internet who were there on Friday claimed he lied about the timing of events and the amount of water/misters available. (I read it to Jackie over the phone and she had a lot of snark.) Oh yeah, and they finally hired someone for Lioness's position, but she won't start until mid-July JUST TO GIVE HR ENOUGH TIME TO FINALLY GET HER AN ID NUMBER.

After work, I watched a Zoom presentation on the book "Let Me Be Frank: A Book About Women Who Dressed Like Men To Do What They Weren't Supposed To Do," with the author and Amber Tamblyn. They talked about a "witch pricker" https://spookyscotland.net/christian-caddell/ and the author was all "I will NOT forget that now," and "I had to lie down while writing it." Amber claimed her 5-year-old may wander in at any moment and ooops, I put my credit card online (she did not). Fairly entertaining.

After that I had my third singing lesson with Morgan. DEAR GOD, I AM TERRIBLE. I know, I know, that whole Ira Glass quote about sucking when you start, etc. But man, I have NO CLUE on head voice vs. chest voice--apparently I'm supposed to be doing Fifty Percent in all chest voice. I attempted it a bunch of times. Yiiiiiiikes. I think she's trying to stay politely neutral, but clearly I'm not quite getting "it," whatever "it" is? SIGH. She's taught kids so I can't be the worst ever, but .... Also gave myself a messed up/dried out throat after trying to sing that way (i.e. a lot louder/more forceful than I normally do short of screaming certain karaoke songs, I feel sorry for the neighbors) for awhile--okay, so after that I tried to memorize the table speech for murder mystery theater and perhaps I should not have done that since that involves reading aloud a lot. HOPEFULLY IT'S NOT COVID AND I JUST DID THAT TO MYSELF. I am forcing myself to chug orange tea with honey.

(That said, I have off and on drilled the table speech thing and it is NOT sticking in my brain for shit and I have to have it down by next weekend. Fuckadoo. Also have two rehearsals coming up.)

Talked to Jackie on the phone afterwards about various things. She said she has a crush on a married coworker and asked if it's possible to be just friends with someone you have a crush on. "Well, I'm doing that with Scott..." I said, and then went into that topic for awhile. Nope, I really don't know what's going on with that. She said we (him and me) should hang out alone and I said I shot my shot, I canNOT ask any more. Not that I could get it to work anyway...the only way to be around him is to do group activities or a play or drop in at the store in public. She thought he was cute from the pictures I sent and was all "why is he not dating a bunch of girls?" I know, right. I didn't have the heart to say "he's off with a girl he'll like better than me right now and for the rest of Music Man..." sigh. Someone with actual talent, unlike me who can't really sing or dance or do much of anything besides cute stuffed animals or whatever. He likes them talented and he absolutely doesn't think I have much of any. I can't really get anywhere, but this is as good as it gets.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com