Chaos Attraction

Table Speeching

2022-06-15, 7:46 p.m.

In office day. I feel ROASTED from ALL THE EMAILS. Hours and hours and hours of this. We had to hold off on several things being done for weeks on end and while we're still waiting on shit to get turned in, I tried to find the ones that might be doable today. HOURS AND HOURS AND HOURS. I was DEAD by like 3:20 p.m. and frankly could not do much of anything for the rest of the workday.

I found another painted heart rock today. Says "Love Honor Respect" on it. These things keep following me around.

After work: was so tired I walked by Farmers Market and got dumplings. Ate them. Mom called, wanting to know the weekend hot goss. Nothing much new, I said, other than that long bitchrant email that was indeed, literally sent to EVERYONE according to Grandboss. Mom was all "why did the lady go on about being neighbors and her son's job?" and I was all "hell if I know? She just wanted to rant?"

Doreen got exposed to covid and will not be coming this weekend. SIGH. Fucking figures. I'll never meet her IRL. I suggested Zooming this weekend with her but Meg said no.

Meg wanted me to call her about the weekend: (a) do a test before arriving, (b) she wants me to bring ALL my food for the weekend because it doesn't sound like she wants to deal with cooking--I suggested hitting Trader Joe's upon arriving like we usually do (I will provide food $), but no, she was pretty stuck on the "bring all your own" thing. Sigh. I'm confused but it sounds like she's all "fend for yourself on breakfast and lunch, we'll all do dinner together." She sounds a bit confused/pandemic-life-y, but who isn't these days. I briefly talked to Jade, trying to get an answer regarding what kind of dog sweater she wants me to make (what needles? what yarn did she get?), I still haven't gotten an answer to that one but hopefully she'll let me know before I leave so I don't have to bring ALL the needles or go buy any. We'll see.

I don't really like the "bring your own food to share" idea because people who like to cook get all judgy on my divey eat-out-of-a-box, frozen-food-microwave lifestyle. Meg said she didn't care, but um...I dunno there. She said just get whatever you have in the house, which boils down to a few boxes of crackers, cans and bags of food...um....embarrassing. I will be forced to hit the store, I fear.

Steven is still in my town with the family with no estimated time of return, that didn't seem to bother her? Sounds like Michael and company suddenly decided to remodel the entire house or something, sheesh. She said he tests negative now but is still tired.

I had a rehearsal for murder mystery tonight. I wasn't sure what was going on or what to expect, but I think I was in on someone else's rehearsal? One guy playing the dead guy/detective in the Masquerade show (the one we used in training), one girl who's also new that I didn't recognize playing one of the suspects, Jessica Flesher, Emeri as Maid Luna, and me basically playing every other suspect. Well, that was fun and I even racked it up on the time clock for that. However, my computer (the new one!) decided to not have the sound work AT ALL during the whole thing, so I had to call into Zoom on the phone and then reboot it entirely. That fixed it, thank goodness. What a pain.

I feel like I'm still not sure what the hell I am supposed to do when I am in a show? We have a rehearsal on Monday for it with her and me, but I'm not sure which show I'm doing (couldn't get it found on the portal somehow?) and she was immediately rehearsing another one afterwards, so I couldn't ask. Grr, argh. This really did pretty much go off the script tonight--I think the detective guy had it pretty well memorized already, as did she, so what do the noobs do? Unclear. I like live action role play but am feeling pretty doofy on the "what I'm supposed to do" factor here? Ruh-roh.

Don't even get me started on the damn table speech. I drilled it while walking to work, on morning break and during lunch, but was just TOO BRAIN DEAD to do it tonight/the afternoon. Blech. I feel such fail.

I feel very confused about things right now, but that's still better than being exhausted after work, I guess? God, work sucks. Only 1.5 more days to go and then a 3-day weekend...and then more work.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com