Chaos Attraction

Another Scheduling Post

2008-06-16, 11:19 a.m.

Another season, another "what the fuck classes do I take" entry again. This time it's a little sadder due to my lack of enthusiasm over most of the options. Also that I will no longer be taking Dancers Fitness, since the instructor (a) got his own studio and (b) wants you to show up THREE times a week. Hah, like I have the time to do anything even twice a week?

Mondays:

Gym:
Step 3 5-5:50 p.m. (all gym classes are cheap)
Abs 6-6:15
Pump and Sculpt or Zumba 6:30-7:30

EC:
Capoiera 6-7 (also Wed) $15-30
all summer (2 sessions)

CC:
Drawing 6-8
7/6-8/11

Marble making 6-9
July 7-28 $91 (or use credit)

Mosaic 6-9
July 7-28

Spinning 7:30-9:30
July 7-August 11

I keep saying that I want to try taking a martial arts class, hence the capoeira (no other classes are even close to possible for me to take now). But if I stay in writer's group, something I am SERIOUSLY pondering dropping out of for many reasons, that's still kind of a no-go. (As is everything I am looking at for Wednesdays that isn't a gym class, really.) Also, I don't know squat about capoeira.

The sad thing about the CC during the summer is that there's so few classes. No new classes. I have taken bloody everything I want to take, really.

Marble making would be a good option, but they are once again making lampworking classes have no discounts or freebies whatsoever, so it'd be the most expensive thing to take (unless they let me use up all my credit). This seems like a waste of a "free class," since about the only night I have to take a CC class on is Monday (or Tuesday, but there's nothing fun running then). I loved taking mosaic, but I've already done it and it's not really a class you're gonna learn more info from if you take it twice. Spinning...I know all the yarnies are obsessed with it and I could go to the gym beforehand, which would be great. It's probably my best option. I just...don't give a rat's ass about learning how to make my own yarn because I make BIG projects that need more than 1-2 skeins of DIY yarn to complete.

So, problem.

Tuesdays:

Gym:
Pump It Up 5:15-6:15
HEAT 6:30-7:30

EC:
Juggling 6-7
7/1-7/29 $15

Meditation 7-9
8/12-9/09 $50

Since the awesomest teacher at the gym will still be around at least for the first half of the summer (she who teaches Pump It Up), I will probably give her priority in picking a Tuesday thing to do. Which rules out juggling (kind of a shame there).

Then there's meditation. I clearly can't/won't do it all by myself, so I need a class. The timing of it is good. But...shit, he's charging $50 to meditate? He ain't buying class materials with that $50, I think. It seems like kind of a ripoff for an EC course.

Wednesdays:

Gym:
Step & Sculpt 5:15-6:15
Glidiator 6:30-7:30

EC:
Capoiera 6-7 (also Wed) $15-30
all summer (2 sessions)

CC:
Pastels 6-8:30
July 9-Aug 13

Clothing Alterations 5:15-7:15
Aug 6-27

Yeah, most of this is thrown out the window if I still stay in writers' group, so I guess I will just go to the gym. Also not feeling massively excited about clothing alterations (I kinda know how already), and pastels is too long of a commitment when I have a conflict running half the time anyway.

Fridays and Sundays are more gym classes, which is cool. Weight lifting and bosus. But nothing terribly interesting to discuss here.


I have been thinking lately about dropping out of writers' group and volunteering. Not that I really want to drop those activities, but there's enough crap going on behind the scenes that me continuing to do them may be difficult/impossible. I don't know if I'll ever be able to volunteer again come fall ANYWAY, hence why I had to suck it up and apply to teach. As for writers' group, my ride over seems to be not terribly interested in going except for once in awhile. I have no idea how to talk to him about this. If he totally flakes out and wants to quit, I think I am just going to give up trying to get over there for good.

I feel bad about these things, but part of me does think, "Hey, that would at least let me try taking martial arts." And scheduling would have more flexibility for me. Having only one day to really position anything in (though this summer I have one extra day because my hippie-r classes are not running on Tuesdays) is a pain.

*sigh* I don't know.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com