Chaos Attraction

Friend Drama

2022-06-18, 7:50 p.m.

Hoooooooo boy Saturday. Jade had various plans in mind--a concert, a singalong at the beach--and then ended up scrapping those, I think it was a combination of "I'm in the zone for stuff dealing right now" and me pointing out that we'd have to leave at certain times/quite early to go to out of town events, especially if I have to get gas. Meg was going to go to a party but ended up not doing that. She took me over there briefly to see the house because the lady living there is a mosaicist, but even though it was an outdoor event she was unnerved that people didn't have masks on pre-party.

Jade worked on more stuff in the morning and Meg and I did collages (Jade had picked out some collage material for us to work with). I asked her about getting together with Stephen and she said once she said she wanted to be with him, he proposed and she accepted. I was all "wait, you got engaged and you hadn't even been officially boyfriend/girlfriend for awhile yet?!" Heck, he hadn't even been involved with anyone else before (I note Meg...definitely got around and had the attitude of "marriage doesn't work out" in her younger years.). I'm impressed. And kinda jealous. She said she felt like she could marry him and that freaked her out, I said I feel that way about Scott but who knows there, if ever. Talking to her about it kind of gives me hope, but who knows...

There was some, ah....Transformation Game drama. Meg was already kind of ticked at Jade blowing her off re: relatives losing memory, and I pointed out (while going to the mosaic house) she's new to the whole experience and isn't quite there yet, and god knows I've lost it even worse on being told to love myself because that's a hot button thing for me, you know? Meg seemed fine with that. But she also wanted everyone to draw an angel card for the game and Jade didn't particularly want to and that seemed to turn into this whole "bids for connection"/rejection thing, and when we tried playing the game again Meg suddenly said she didn't want anyone knitting (I objected, also this was kind out of out nowhere because usually everyone's doing it) and it just turned into some kind of thing where Meg quit the game and said this was feeling "abusive" and more or less stomped off to her room.

To which I was all..... Like I get Meg was feeling rejected by Jade big time, but I don't think Jade was intending to make her feel like that, or that Jade got that this was where Meg was at. This is also about the most I've ever seen Meg upset since usually she's super chill, so...awkward AF to say the least.

What ended up happening was that I did take Jade to Goodwill to pick up some suitcases to ship stuff home in (got a few books) and then she wanted to go to the wharf to get some Santa Cruz merch, so we did that. She found all the stuff she was looking for--stickers and a sweatshirt--and I got some blue morpho butterfly stickers to add to my butterfly bathroom. We also saw some sea lions and a baby seagull that had hatched, and got some fries and clam chowder and ice cream. It was probably a good idea to ah, get out of the house for a few hours. I attempted to bring up with Jade that I think Meg's really upset about this and possibly why, which I think she somewhat got, but I don't know if either of us got exactly how much? I'm not sure what else is going on with her--there seems to be some family drama going on otherwise with her other son moving to my town and remodeling and I guess his wife has drama going on about that.

When everyone was back in the house, it was uncomfortable, Meg was still mad (after going off to her meditation room for 2 hours to work on her shit) and said she was demoting Jade to a "party friend" rather than a soul friend because she could never trust Jade again and she was REALLY hurt and Jade said the dreaded "I'm sorry you feel that way" (note: nobody should ever, ever say this, people lose it when you do!) and ... oy, I felt like I was watching a friendship break up right there and was debating if I should pack my shit and go. Also, what's going to happen when Jade's going to be around for a few more days if this is going on? I finally pointed out that Meg was feeling hurt and rejected, but I don't think Jade meant to make her feel like that at all, and I think this more or less resolved...hopefully...though Meg is definitely not doing more game, anyway. She said she's putting her inner child away and having her adult self be in charge, and I said stuff like "my inner child just whines and cries and that's why it only comes out during therapy."

Things calmed down and we had dinner and a bonfire afterwards. We also tried out pendulums, as Jade has a stash of them. I like them but so far none have really "worked" for me, so they were trying to pick one out for me and said to wear it for awhile, see how that goes tomorrow for making one work.

On a random note, Meg has a betta fish, Seymour, that her daughter Sarah got her while she was here. This is the most interesting fish I've ever seen outside of an aquarium because the fish haaaaaaates all the little snails that crawl up the tank sides and does its little damndest to try to get them off the glass. It puffs up, tries to wave its little fins/gills on the sides at it, occasionally actually pokes them with its face to knock them down...and then the snails Itsy Bitsy Spider their ways back up again. Who wins this battle? Who knows?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com