Chaos Attraction

5 Things

2022-06-20, 7:52 p.m.

Monday: had a leisurely morning and some phone calls (Doreen called to see how we were doing, she doesn't have covid) and some hangout food time. I did get Jade to check what my range is and she said the highest is an A6 and lowest is a B3 (whatever that means...this is not something I ever did while playing violin, y'all). She said that's slightly in tenor and slightly second soprano ranges.

Before I left, Jade wanted to play this "5 Things" game that I actually found rather depressing after awhile. You're asked what you'd do with the following amounts of money: $5, $50, $500, $5000, $50,000.... you get the drift there. I could figure out the first few and then the bigger the money got, the more stymied I got. For $500 I was all "um, I dunno...I still haven't spent my $200 from work yet, I forgot...maybe go to a class or something..." I think I eventually said "go to Stitches West, I think I spent like $400 last time I went," for that answer. The bigger it got, the more I was stumped. Like for $5000 I was all "I guess go...somewhere? I dunno where?" and $50k was all "I can't quit my job on that, right? Um...." and really just had no clue once it was at 5 million. "Can I quit my job now? Probably not, right?" and Jade was all "start your own business!" and I was all "still don't actually want to run anything!" and she was all "start a theater?" and I was all "um, I guess donate to one....?"

The whole thing was about thinking big with no limitations, and man, I just can't DO that. Meanwhile Meg and Jade were all "home repairs!" and "start a nature conversancy!" and "get all the heart surgery I can afford!" and "buy a giant house and have the entire family move in!" and I was just all, "this makes me sad, I do not like trying to think of how much expensive impossible things cost." I finally said "I only have one small dream, and that's to have someone to snuggle with every night, and I can't even have THAT." I do not think big. I think very limited-ly. But I don't see the point in thinking big either when I can't accomplish all that much with the lopsided brain I got, or the luck I have either.

I have started Jade's dog sweater now that we've (a) agreed on a pattern and (b) I got some needles from Meg to start it since I didn't have any in the right gauge on me. I actually "finished" it once I got home, but since I'm going to customize it to make it longer than the actual pattern, I sent Jade some pics to figure out how much longer to go.

I then drove home for three long-ass sloggy traffic hours, from 2-5 p.m. I made it over the mountain fine but almost everything was sloggy after that. I wasn't sure if it would be or not since as far as I can tell not everybody is having Juneteenth off as yet, but it was. Oh well. By the time I got home I was pretty dead tired and I had a murder mystery rehearsal in 2 hours and I hadn't read the script for it yet...oh well, that's what speed reading is for.

I note that there was some kind of felon-on-the-loose situation going on in town in the north end, they told people to stay inside there. My phone kept going off with PD auto-dial calls during rehearsal and I had to be all "don't mind me, there's a felon on the loose here." The very reasonable response I got to that was, "Not a bear?!"

Anyway: first hour of rehearsal was for the show I'm doing Saturday, which is the one(?) non-murder mystery show, instead it's a show about a stolen diamond, the "Stomach of the Ocean," lol. It's usually intended to be a kids' show ("I don't know why adults booked this one," Emeri said) and is pretty simple, by which I mean "the diamond was stolen because there's a button you push to let it out." I play Val, the diamond's owner, and mostly am to throw fits about my missing diamond for two hours, and wear a crazy dress, which of course I already had. So that part's not too bad. I wasn't sure if I had to memorize the script or not and not really, just generally know what you're supposed to do, she said. We shall see. The others rehearsing with us to do the other parts were Emeri's boyfriend Brendan and Alicia, the other new girl from last week. She said her show this weekend went really well, so that's a yay there and slightly more reassuring for my nervous ass.

The second rehearsal was a general practice one for most of us (same group) except the fifth person, Delanie, who I think is actually doing that show next week or so (has another rehearsal for it). That is the gangster/bootlegger/1920's show, and hooooo boy is that one crazy. Like "several people are in disguise, one of them is like, an 8-year-old assassin or something" level of crazy. Emeri said that is one to practice in general since it's done a lot and it's very hardcore for the lady character putting it on. Hooo boy. I don't know about doing that one as a lead, but she was all "eh, you just memorize Act 1 and the order you do the suspects in" about it. Brendan clearly has a great time doing the mob boss guy and every sleazy dude. Emeri was all "yeah, since we're dating I don't really like playing stepsiblings in that one..."

I get paid for these, so I shall attend tomorrow night's bonus rehearsal time and presumably next Monday's too.



previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com