Chaos Attraction

Happy Solstice, Y'all

2011-06-21, 9:26 a.m.

Happy solstice, y'all. I wish I had some folks to celebrate it with tonight, but I have given up on that.

I love it when I leave the house at 7:30 in the morning and it's 70ish degrees and I can walk to school in a short dress without needing a damn jacket. Or pants. I love not having to figure out the "what do you wear when it's 50 degrees when you leave the house and go home but it's warm in the middle of that" dilemma. I love finally reuniting with my warm weather skirts and tank tops and Hawaiian dresses that pretty much didn't see the light of day last year. I actually bothered to rearrange my closet to summer wear this year instead of giving up on that the way I did last year. GO 90+ WEATHER, BABY. It was windy as hell on Sunday, but hot enough that for once it wasn't frigid outside while it was windy. It was awesome. People may whine about it being hot out, but guys, think about it: you're at work all day, when are you outside when it's actually hot? I mean, *I'd* like to be out in the hot because I am a hothouse flower, but most of y'all should just enjoy the warmer mornings already!

I thought it'd feel strange when it was finally warm again (it really wasn't warm all summer last year, really), but it just feels... right. Perfect. Warm instead of chilly, but not roasting in the mornings and evenings when I am outside. All days should be like that as far as I'm concerned. Just like in Hawaii. I wonder if it's like that in southern California? As far as I can tell (though it's been awhile) that seems to depend on where you live, but... constant warm would be really nice.

In other, less pleasant news, one of the dingdongs upstairs is now waking up at 5 a.m. every morning AND MAKING A GIANT GODDAMNED RACKET. I am not 100% sure what it is, but my guess at this point (since it's dudes, we can rule out blow dryers, vibrators, stuff like that) is that they are just taking a super long shower with the water pressure on as long and hard as it can possibly go... to the point where it fucking shakes my bed and no earplugs can drown it out and you can hear it even in the living room. I swear the jackhammers last week were quieter and easier to block with my super earplugs than something running right through my bedroom wall. And I have to say that it really ticks me off. I don't have an early morning job, a flight, a dog or a baby, I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO WAKE UP AT 5 EVERY DAY. But by the time the World's Noisiest Shower stops at precisely 5:35 a.m., there's no way I can go back to sleep: both because it takes me too long to go back to sleep and because the giant goddamned racket will wake you up but good. What the hell am I supposed to do, go to bed at 9 p.m. to compensate for this? GRRRRRRR. Can you call the police for a noise violation for a shower? I don't think so, right? (Plus, just imagine how that would go. Like they'd even HEAR the cops knocking...)

Continuing with the "staycations," sorta, I am taking Monday and Tuesday off next week to go to Monterey because Mom got free aquarium tickets. The reason why it's on Monday instead of on the weekend like reasonable people would do is because she's skipping off to meet the Internet Boyfriend again, this time in San Diego. Amusingly enough, her friend Pat volunteered herself to come along on said trip (to be fair, she and Mom do go off down south a few times a year now, and Pat goes down there a lot). Considering how Mom has been trying to hide this sort of thing, it's...just kinda funny.

Other than that, there's not much news going on here. I still keep waiting for my life to change one way or the other. (Dear Jerry Brown: Thanks for the veto. I may hate you next week, and no matter what the level of budget cutting that happens I am likely to be screwed anyway, but as long as you put off the axe falling, I am cool with you.)

I feel like I am finally ready to Move On (just like everyone else!). Or at least start taking steps in my life to start doing so. Right now I don't think I can do it alone, especially since I have been banging my head against the wall for the last 4 years trying to figure out how and failing. Some things in life I have to wait on, like seeing if I'm still employed, or building up actual credit to buy a car since I was dumb enough to not get a credit card in college like you're supposed to and I had to bite the bullet and do it this year with a secured card. Beyond that... I don't know what to do and apparently I am just incapable of figuring it out even when I go to career counseling. I guess I am just waiting for a freaking miracle to occur already. Some kind of divine intervention that's going to have to come along to get me from where I am to where I want to be. Because apparently I can't pull this shit off by myself. And if it never comes, then... well, it doesn't and I stay here forever, I guess.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com