Chaos Attraction

Work Stalkers

2022-06-22, 7:55 p.m.

Funny I forgot to mention from yesterday:

Adventure Girl went to a country music festival and Blake Shelton was there.
Boss: "Was he drunk? Lioness said every time she went to see him he was drunk."
Adventure Girl: "Nooooo, but that was my experience seeing Toby Keith...."


Slept 3 hours last night, which is probably 2 more than to be expected (that was the previous night) in this weather. Last night I said I'd try to study my lines while up in the middle of the night, but hahahahah nope didn't do that. When I am awake in the middle of the night, all I'm up to is either lying there or trying to read. (Or listening to the shitty upstairs neighbor noise again.) I have neither the energy nor the brains to do more than that in the wee small hours of the morning. I eventually got up and watched Obi-Wan and Ms. Marvel once the racket started. Did an angel card reading last night online and got the following:

* "What do you desire right now? Visualize it, and it will come about. Negativity will block your progress."
* "Have faith and hope, because there is something positive and new on the horizon that you can't see."
* "Stay Optimistic: Your dreams are coming true. Don't quit right before the miracle occurs."
* "New psychic and spiritual experiences are changing the way you view the world and yourself."

Work: more damn emails, nothing but emails. Literally did nothing else from like 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.. One jackass kept sending us the same email over and over again every few hours demanding that we do his thing ASAP. We CANNOT do his thing ASAP and have told him this. I am sick of seeing his fucking emails. Finally he got his fucking approval (clearly he's stalking others electronically as well) and his letters sent and he still kept emailing...finally saying "thank you for your patience." I really wanted to say "you literally had NO PATIENCE AT ALL YOU FUCKER, I TOLD YOU WE COULDN'T MAKE IT GO ANY FASTER, STOP HARASSING EVERYONE." I had to delete several emails where I started telling him to STOP EMAILING.

I am having a lot of people harassing me for rush things today. One of them got approved! Paid their money! And then was all "but what about MY special thing?" and the people petitioning apparently left it off the approved paperwork, so guess what? NOTHING FOR YOU! Because this place is so effing stupid and I have to get tedious approvals for the slightest of shit! The new coworker was deeeelighted that now he's only MY problem and not hers as well now. Yaaaaaaay.

Oh yeah, and I had to explain to her today: "The process is that he requests letters, which we know are going to be rejected by Black Hole Of Mail Country, then he asks for an exception to the rules, then he gets it, then he asks for MORE LETTERS which are ALSO going to be rejected by Black Hole Of Mail Country...."

My review is scheduled for next Wednesday at 9 a.m. Good point: not in office that day so nobody sees me crying the rest of the day. Bad point: have to stay sober for the rest of the day. I want to say "why can't we just shit on me at 4 p.m., I'm going to feel like shit all day anyway but then I have all day to dwell on exactly what's wrong with me.

I put in allllllllll this draining work for straight 1 reviews.

Singing lesson tonight: I dug up my possible audition songs and indeed, Morgan did agree on doing "The Worst Thing I Could Do," even starting on the bit I like best--which coincidentally is on my one minute sheet music version, huzzah. She said given what DMTC is like and how they cast people it doesn't really matter much what I do. She had me doing various enunciations/mouth shapes and tips on how to do the number. I guess that went pretty well. She said I'm a mezzo-soprano (I told her what the range Jade came up with was and then was all "um, what's that?"), and I said Jade was surprised at "Fifty Percent" and she said it'd be a song we'd work on off and on. I am not used to trying to sing with volume, I'm used to trying to blend in with the nearest wall. She said everyone can become a belter and that technique was developed on Broadway because of having no mics.

In other news, she said she's auditioning for B&tB Monday ("one more day off"), and she's going for Belle or nothing on this one. (Apparently doing second-best in Evita was...not her thing.) She hopes she gets in and Hugo gets Gaston or Beast, and I said I'm rooting for him for Gaston because "every last inch of me's covered with hair!" She also said he might propose if they both get in the show, since they met doing B&tB in 2016. I'm rooting for it! I asked if she was worried about not getting Belle since Jan straight up wouldn't let her audition for Belle in 2016 (she played Babette the feather duster). She said, "new director." I gather the girl who played Belle in 2016 wasn't good either.

After that, I am happy to report that (a) the weather was less muggy-ass outside so I could pace around on my patio and memorize lines, and (b) the table speech is going a lot better tonight. I'm trying to freestyle-improvise/freshen up the dialogue so I remember what I'm supposed to be saying approximately rather than saying it all exact. I think Emeri said she was fine with that. So, fingers crossed.

I dried out my throat again, but not surprised at that given how much mouth running-off I've just done.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com