Chaos Attraction

Music Man

2022-06-24, 8:00 p.m.

Roe vs. Wade died today. Technically not affecting me (yet) since I live in a blue state and am unfuckable, but depressing as hell anyway and once they go after birth control and oh, everything else... Furious, depressed, mad, what have you. Also, I was hoping to have sex again before menopause and that may very well be off the table someday. A lot of uterus-owners are going to need to quit having p-i-v sex, I suppose. If they're allowed to :( And now everyone who's not straight will get attacked...I'd say "how did we get here," but in the end it's always "evil will always triumph because good is dumb." Going high does nothing. I spent all day reading an updating megathread discussion.

In office day: more mail, more long tedious lists of stuff, hot outside. The ducks from yesterday were still in the same spot, but the one that had been in the water wasn't any more, presumably because the water was dirty AF. It probably peed in there or something.

Mildly eventful things of the day that weren't Roe related:
* At one point I heard my boss randomly screaming....apparently she was having Technical Difficulties.
* I had to cc someone on email and found out that way that she quit this week. I'm guessing she was really fed up of her job to literally not tell people before she left except in the auto-reply. I think the last time I had any conversation with her it involved a lot of flaming shit emojis, so...'nuff said there.
* I heard via someone's cc'd email yesterday that our local ceremony drama was supposed to have an announcement regarding a makeup ceremony, but boy, did that never happen.
* I got one of the most illiterate/incoherent emails ever from yet another international client. I cannot believe we certify people who literally can't write a coherent 7 word sentence. I couldn't tell what he was asking and was just all NO. Then he was all "can I pick it up on Sunday?" and I'm all NO, WE ARE NOT OPEN SUNDAY, JEEBUS.

And finally, I heard from a former coworker of mine today out of the blue. I forget how long ago she left, she's a programmer type who's been rising up the ranks in programming over the years. Anyway, she said that IBB is her boss usually and she loves him and thinks he's great and he actually has resolved various office personal difficulties and he doesn't make people do what they are bad at. Like she said she hates presentations, so he doesn't make her do them. She suggested talking to him about my difficulties, and I'd LIKE to, but he's interim AND that's super going over my boss's and grandboss's heads and I have to keep on living with them. I can't get a transfer and there's no way they'd let me out of service or have a different job than anyone else...so I dunno.

Former coworker and I compared notes a bit on past BigBosses and we felt pretty similarly about the uh, issues with those people. She also said Grandboss is rude to her and ignores her emails, which GEEEZ, and da fuck?


Music Man tonight: I think it's a good thing I went tonight because hell, the show might not have happened at all. I was there as a civilian, which slightly confused Don since he was house manager and isn't used to that.. Wanted to try the fancy cookies and they had no flavors I wanted, I didn't want the fancy drink (vodka and 7-up is not that exciting for a "You Got Trouble" drink)...darn it. I got myself a seat in the middle of nobody, but Arthur was ushering and came over to sit by his "movie date," which was adorable because he was the perfect theater date: snarked in between scenes and told me the hot goss.

Which is to say: most of this cast got Covid. Those who didn't get it in the Evita round were getting it within the last two weeks, a lot of them missed all or most of rehearsal, and it was Marian's FIRST DAY BACK after 10 days and she had to make out with Harold...of course, he already got it so I guess no harm done there. Scott said 3 out of the 4 barbershop guys got it. Dannette got it again. I didn't even get a count this time of how many got it, but sounds like most people. Shorthaired Sarah is in this one and she had a mask on stage, as did the guy playing the mayor, WHICH IS VERY SMART OF THEM GIVEN HOW THINGS ARE GOING. I'm glad she wasn't the only one here, though afterwards she was considering removing it for Beauty and the Beast. I'm amazed they got it all together under the circumstances of what sounds like a lot of people missing, especially during tech week.

Two people didn't make the show at all: one of the other Jennifers from Mary Poppins (bird lady one) is having heart palpitations, and Arielle got it and is still testing positive/hasn't hit ten days, and according to Scott, is also having heart palpitations. Guess what, he's been texting her A LOT...and I got to hear about them "landing in a puddle" during dance rehearsal in Evita and how her body is...y'know, ballerina body.

That said: I feel bad for Arielle and horrified on the heart palpitations, but I admit I was relieved to not have to sit through them being couple-y onstage or afterwards tonight. I'm sure they had to be coupling up somewhere normally in that show, on the footbridge at least (he was alone there). It looks like in the show she's supposed to be "married" to one of the other barbershop quartet dudes by character last name (I note this is like Urinetown in that some people have names but they aren't actually mentioned in the show), but I dunno there. I bet they were coupling.

I did see Brian walking around before and after the show (not in it)--I was told he was supposed to be Charlie Cowell and then well, y'know. I asked how he was doing and he said fine. I'm kind of confused as to why he was billed in the credits as being in it the first weekend when he wasn't, so...dunno there either.

Don said DMTC is having a booth at the 4th of July festivities, I really should drop over there on the day (no plans next weekend anyway).

As for the show itself:

I note that Arthur and I were having entertaining snark moments and throwing in Producers jokes, but my favorite was me watching everyone walk around in a pinwheel and thinking, "Needs more swastika."

Isaiah was also playing Marcellus SUPER GAY in one scene (the duet with Harold, he literally sits on the dude's knee), to the point where I desperately wanted to say to him afterwards "Dude, I don't know which was more gay, this scene or the one where you shoved your dick in a guy's face in The Producers." Alas, Isaiah bailed after the show, dammit. That dude was SUPER PERKY in this show, like daaaaaaaaang. I told Scott this line instead and he did not say anything :P Also as another thought in this show: Marcellus not only keeps calling Harold "Greg," he keeps YELLING "GREG!!!!" I kept muttering, "DUDE. STOP YELLING GREG."

I suspect this was not Scott's Most Fun Show Ever, he seemed kinda...politely bored, I guess...compared to usual, onstage? I compare this to the time when he had to do the lambada, in which he looked similarly bored. I suppose that's to be expected since he didn't have much interest in anything beyond the barbershop quartetting on this show? At least he didn't have to be in Shipoopi. Isaiah sang that VERY PERKILY.

Scott grew back the beard. I presume he's doing it both for this show since he's the obviously youngest of the barbershop quartet/school board by a few decades, and also for purposes of looking beastly, but it was a bit of a bummer. Arthur was all, 'I was surprised to see Scott growing back the beard, but he looks good."

Harold and Marian are new to here and did VERY WELL. I did talk to Marian (Rachele) after the show, she seems very nice. She's definitely my favorite in this show because she's the lone acerbic one and THIS SHOW NEEDS ACERB.

Shorthaired Sarah had on a giant blonde wig most of the time and it took me awhile to figure out it was her (masked). Maybe it works as a disguise when a brunette girl puts on a blonde wig, but not the other way around?

There are like, very few boys in this show. Like Winthrop is being played by a girl, very well done, btw. The "boys band" seriously has two boy characters and otherwise it's Amaryllis and a few other little girls at the end. Arthur and I were snarking on that and I said to Arthur, "How the hell are they going to do Newsies?" and he said he thought boys would turn up for that one. I said I suspect it'll be 80% girls.

Oh, and the girl who had been playing Zaneeta injured her foot, so Sierra (Brunette--since Blonde won't be in shows at this point, assume I'm referring to her unless I say otherwise) had to learn the part over the last week. She did it quite like Urinetown, except with "EGADS" a lot. I had no idea, she had it down. I did meet Lizzie (the original one) afterwards, poor girl.

Per Brian leaving, Steve did the role of Charlie Cowell (Harold Hill's enemy, kind of a 2-3 scene wonder). He did an excellent job of being slimy/obnoxious AF/leering at poor Marian, who had to kiss him. Oy! (Again, well, they've all had it now...).

Seriously, I am glad I wasn't in this. Good lord, it's so wholesome you could barf. There's one line where the mayor says "don't make a poop" and everyone likes to say "Balzac" AS DIRTY AS THEY CAN POSSIBLY INSINUATE IT and that's kinda it for any snark, except for Marian being delightfully acerbic to Harold. She makes that character work. I only laughed a few times, but Scott said afterwards he knew that was me. Of course (sigh). Me trying to hide in the back and not be spotted in the audience...

I think I counted that I know ten-ish? people in this pretty well from other shows and a few others upon slight acquaintance. I didn't get to say hi to most of them--did talk to Mary Young, Dannette, Steve, Molly, Stacy, Arthur, Sierra, Sarah. Missed: Sage, Alexis from Winters (bummer, don't see her that often), Isaiah.

I got the free cake and drink and hung around till almost midnight, I don't think anyone was going to Woodstock's after that since people went home at that point.

Scott did hug me a bunch of times onstage after the show, like four times! (yaaaaay), asked how things were going, told him about the mystery show and how I'm not sure how that's going to go.

We all discussed auditioning for Beauty and the Beast, and ended up telling Sarah as to where to find sheet music and song suggestions. She said somehow she always knows the obscure musical songs. Scott said he's going to do this one and I wish he'd audition on the same night I'm doing it so I could hear it. I bet he's fantastic at it. I asked what day he was going and he said he wasn't sure and I was all "dude, you're literally already going to be here Sunday." Who knows with him. Even I'd be like "fuck wasting the gas to drive home for like an hour and then leave again" at that point. I didn't say that but certainly thought it.

Sierra and I told Rachele and Scott about cat texts ("you would have been next if not for covid," I said to him.). She said Supply Bunny was destroyed by her cats, sigh, and has now been replaced with a bin. I have missed hanging out with her. It was really good to be around people again after a month. (What am I to do in 2023 when I don't really want to do the shows?)

And it's nearly 12:30, I should go attempt to sleep HAHAHAHAHAHAHA.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com