Chaos Attraction

Stomach Of The Ocean

2022-06-25, 8:05 p.m.

Saturday morning/early afternoon: at least I slept better, even if the neighbors were being horribly noisy from 5:30-6ish AGAIN ON A FUCKING SATURDAY.

Debbie wants to do lunch tomorrow, we'll meet in Woodland before the play.
Texted Sage frog stories, they said "aww cute."
Texted Arielle, told her I was sorry to hear she was sick, she asked if I saw the show, sorry I missed seeing you (on both sides).
Loretta wants to borrow some tiny crochet hooks, I will drop them by tomorrow on the way out of town.
Listened to a snippet of "One Day" (1:14-1:44) and decided I do want to do it for an audition sometime--it is 16 bars. I found screenshots of the two pages I wanted out of the 10 minute song and printed them at the library. I also went by a random garage sale and got a few items of clothing. I think I DO want to do that as the audition piece tomorrow--it's fun, fairy tale themed, and doesn't really matter. I could pull that out of my butt....
God, I do NOT want to rehearse any more of this today! I cannot! My brain rebels, and also it is too hot in here. All I want to rehearse is this song snippet, which feels appropriate to my life.


Murder mystery show: I drove to the storage unit and met up with Emeri to drive over to Oakland (though next time ah, she'll just come get me on the way over, she realized too late it was kind of impractical to have me drive to Sac and then drive back home). We had some very entertaining conversations about theater, how she does voiceover work (I took notes for Scott even though I'd never do it myself), how Elon Musk is a fuckhead, the various illnesses/quirks of one of their cats, how murder mysteries work and what makes kind of a bad show (she thinks the Harry Potter show should have made-up characters instead of the book ones, telling people to play Hermione, plus one actually kills someone). I really enjoyed hanging out with them.
We got to the venue in Oakland at 4:30 on time. It was probably in one of the more uh, interesting areas of Oakland (by which I mean, graffiti and who the heck designed the intersections?!), but the people working at the restaurant and the party attendees were SUPER sweet and nice. Very nice, enthusiastic people having a very good time and I found them delightful. The restaurant had an "annex" area that the party was in, a narrow cocktail area. So the whole "table speech" I had to memorize? That I was stressed about? Not actually happening here since it was 30ish people sitting wherever instead of at a bunch of large tables. Emeri very nicely gave a fun, freehand-ish version of the speech for each individual person she and/or I picked out to play each suspect, I finally did one rundown of my own towards the end. They were super nice and sweet and getting into it.

It turns out in general I didn't need to sweat the memorization of the "script" so much as just remembering the details of the case enough to say stuff like "no, I didn't have insurance," "no, I'm not dating anyone here," and "no, I didn't inspect the box, my butler did." I thought Emeri had to do what sounded like a lot of memorization, but they were all "no, I just have to remember in what order to interrogate people and what they hopefully revealed from their binder." So I'm a lot less stressed on that topic.

Best Actor (my pick) went to the guy playing Darrel B. Sweets, candy store owner who finds out about the box's hidden button. That guy was great fun to have conversations with. I also like how he embellished a bit by saying the reason the inventor blabbed about the secret button on the box was that she was given SPECIAL chocolates :) LOL. The girl playing Riley Rich both won Best Actress AND the "Dead Last Place" award for having the most entertaining wrong explanation. I awarded "Best Dressed" to the birthday girl, who had a breathtaking lacy white pants and top ensemble and I knew she'd win right off. There's the option to "custom award" someone and Emeri did that when someone at the last minute wanted to change her form...and then changed it from the RIGHT person to a wrong one. I felt so bummed for her, but hey, at least she got an award out of it.

Various people gave us their compliments and said it was really fun, which was very sweet. Afterwards we cleaned everything up (literally) and left around 8:30, so that's four hours of paid time at a show, which should be a pretty good payday for me.

I finally got home around 10:30 and was actually sleepy for a change, but did I sleep? When do I?

I had a good time and would do again. I'll need to look into my free time schedule, of course, but this went well! Live action role play is super fun! Cartoony voice and a giant hat for the win!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com