Chaos Attraction

Groundhog Day: The Musical

2022-06-27, 8:12 p.m.

Nothing interesting to say about work today, so let's skip that. Tedious lists of crap.

Mom texted to say that she got exposed to covid--she ran into someone outside at the fair on Saturday, "never hugged him but may have been within 3 feet of him," and then he got it. Added bonus, they are going to Tahoe tomorrow with the neighbors for a few days. "We should each take a covid test, right?" SIGH. I presume she's likely to be all right given outside, but going on a trip for a few days right now concerns me.

Talked to Ashley and things are kind of going wrong at the new karaoke venue too, apparently. Ashley's version of what she saw was more detailed and more ... ugh, just ugh, like "hey, someone might want to post on Yelp about discriminating against the handicapped" level of stuff. Basically the owner is uncomfortable with Rae making noise in the bathroom (fair), dancing by the door (???) and going in and out of the building (um, big whoop?) and claiming it's making customers walk out (can't say I've noticed that). Jim was unthrilled at this and is considering quitting the gig if things get worse. So....going to karaoke with her tomorrow may be the last time if things do not go well. Ugh, just ugh.

Also, apparently Jim got four-drinks-drunk at a restaurant, picked up Ashley to go to karaoke (she says she didn't know he was drunk) and then apparently it was more obvious to the karaoke bar that he was drunk but weren't sure what to do about the situation. I gather Ashley's mom got her but after the last incident, it probably wasn't a good idea to have her pick Jim up, so...I dunno what else happened there. Oy.

After all of that, I did some murder mystery training again. That was interesting. This week's script reading was a wedding-themed script, which I thought was more better done plotwise than some other ones I've read. The bridezilla character sounded like great fun and I was sad I didn't get to read that one. I read the wedding planner.

After that, we had host and lead training, which I thought was great and really comprehensive and more of a "tips and tricks" sort of experience. You really only have to memorize plot details, order of interrogation, and the style of how the shows go. Easy-peasy-ish.

Emeri wants to know if we're going to do a lot of work during the fall season or not (and go on hold until spring, basically) and truth be told, I'm probably ... not, sigh. Or at least I'd like to do the DMTC shows this fall and then presumably not be doing as much there come January. I think they want a lot of people working in a hurry and I may not be doing that... oh well. I dunno. Will have to ponder that one out.

I watched Groundhog Day: The Musical online and thought it was VERY good. I'm sorry to see it pretty much disappeared circa 2018. Looks like it was a LOT of production elements/expensive, but very well done?

I wonder how auditions are going tonight. I'm not going to stay up till 11 when they post the callbacks since god knows I won't be wanted. SIGH. I'm still pouting over not being wanted today, big time. Posted sulks on the Internet, basically :P


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com