Chaos Attraction

Work Trends

2021-07-01, 7:03 a.m.

I got out of phones one last time today, as phone stuff continued to go awry. Sadly, it's scheduled again for tomorrow. I sounded extremely miserable to the tech guy who has to get me on the phones. Other than that, did a lot of paperwork.

(Dear God, or Meg, or whoever, thank you for putting this off as long as possible. Keep doing whatever you can.)

Upper management has been asking us to give our opinions as to what to get in a BigBigBoss. I have declined repeated askings to give my opinion because I don't know what BigBigBoss does other than gladhand and go to meetings, and "Hire someone nice?" seemed rather redundant. They did send out a list of the trends that people mentioned, though, including, ahem, "staff are working in many cases above a sustainable capacity" and "resources are scarce, and not adequately stewarded" and "there is a need for systems upgrades and technical innovation."

It sounds to me like those meetings turned into rant sessions about "what we want fixed around here." But as Teresa pointed out last week or so, they all start out with good intentions and then, well....

Play news: Kelly has dropped friend guy entirely, it seems--she sent an email to the rest of the cast asking if they want to rerecord (so far about half of us have written back with yesses) and that we're looking for a new Sam. I wish I could get literally anybody to do it, but the Winters crowd doesn't respond to me. Sigh. Wonder if I should ask Claire if she thinks any of the Florida group might be into it.

Tomorrow, I'm going to try to hit people up about Saturday. Does Ashley still want to go to the yarn store and if so which one(s). Do I need to worry about if she wants to go to his store or not? I told Yemi about this and she said there's practically nothing at Joann's and Michael's of late, so....that doesn't help.

I'm afraid of what happens if she wants to go. I don't want to see him, really. I can't really say no for obvious reasons not to if she wants to or if there isn't shit at the other stores, I just figure it'll be awkward and weird and sad and I'll be standoffish and he'll avoid me or whatever.

I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO ANY MORE ABOUT THIS, BUT DOING ANYTHING DIDN'T HELP MATTERS NOW DID IT.

I'm trying to read this book, "The Course In Miracles Experiment," and it's so damn optimistic I can't even relate to that level of happiness and optimism and openness and not being haunted by the past and believing in good things happening. That's so hard for me to do! It's boggling. What if I could go into the S situation with optimism....oh lord, then I wouldn't be me. I'd love a personality transplant in some respects.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com