Chaos Attraction

A Shopping Day

2022-07-02, 2:54 p.m.

This morning I wrote a book review, cleaned up my closet mess (I found sweaters from Christmas...that's how bad that was), practiced "Fifty Percent," made myself two omelets, and felt generally accomplished for doing a few things.

Then I picked up Loretta and we tooled around Vacaville for the day. First off, we went to the "Under Where?" exhibit at the Vacaville Museum, on undergarments, corsets, etc. throughout history. Some corsets, some skirt frames, some fabrics, some outfits, tie-on pockets (that excited me) and most memorably, a video from Victoria Shelg on There was also a kids' popup book on the topic and it mentioned Marie Antoinettte "wore so many layers of underclothes that she finally decided not to bother with the dress that went over them. She simply went out in her lace and frolicked in the garden." This is, of course, demonstrated with Marie frolicking in her skirt cage.

We then went to the yarn shop--it was a few blocks away--and Loretta got herself all the crochet hooks she desired. I considered getting more yarn for the giant skirt I'm making, then ended up buying a lot of pretty mauve yarn on sale. Sadly, Scott was NOT around for that, apparently--I don't know for sure if he was in the back, but he probably would have heard me cackling (sigh) if he had been in the building. I did tell his mom about going to the exhibit since I read about it off her mailing list and she had some involvement with it (a mannequin installation, I think)? Bummed I didn't see him, sigh....

After that, we did some shopping. We originally went to Cost Plus and got fancy food items. I note that while I was at the museum, I saw some books on the Nut Tree and sent Mom photos asking if she wanted any. She called back NOW to say she wanted the cookbook, so we then drove back to get that. We spotted a Goodwill on the way over, so we hit that on the way back. I got soooooooo many fancy clothes (okay, like 4 items and a salt cellar thing for Mom). Very pretty.

Then we drove back to the shopping center we'd left and had lunch/dinner/whatever it is at 4:30 at Fenton's, where we had the same delicious salad and a bunch of ice cream. We finally finished up at BevMo (Loretta collects tiny booze) and Five Below, where I got some hardware-y things. Then headed home and I feel very tired now for no good reason.

I got so much yarn today: in addition to buying some, Loretta gave me some of hers (to be fair, I also gave her a ball) and I got more in the mail from an Internet friend. It's all very pretty.

So at 8:50 Ashley called up wanting to know if I'm going to karaoke (it's her last Saturday night for awhile). So I went, it was fun, sang the lady songs from Hamilton. Three people in the entire bar with masks. Sorta-dueted with Jim and Buzz because when I walked in they were doing "You Can't Always Get What You Want" and handed me the mic for the chorus. I had blackberry drink and some of Ashley's unwanted pineapple cider. A good time was had by all.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com