Chaos Attraction

I Can't Think Of A Title, Who Cares

2021-07-05, 7:52 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Back To The Movies - 2021-07-10
Booty Tambourine Dance - 2021-07-09
Avoid Pitchforks - 2021-07-08
Dracarys - 2021-07-07
This Little Piggy Went To A Swamp - 2021-07-06

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

This morning, I:

(a) photographed this sweater, now that it's done. I will note that in summer it is very hot to put that many clothes on even at 9 a.m. and god, I am so sick of my natural color and pandemic hair. I haven't decided what to do with it, but in another three weekends I can finally get it done if I want to.

(b) I finally installed the green screen in my kitchen. I now have two removable hooks positioned oppositely from each other in between cabinets, wrapped the clothesline around them a bunch of times, and today I strung the clothesline through the green screen. So far it's stayed upright. I have to leave it up for 2 weeks so it's bunched in the middle so I can do things like get to the fridge. I hope that satisfies them.

(c) I went shopping. NOT to his yarn store. I went to Joann's and got some needles and some safety eyes and a bit of sale yarn. I went to Michael's and got very cheap rainbow tattoos and an umbrella and then five balls of cotton yarn I liked. I don't know what I am going to do with it, but I liked it. And then I went to Cost Plus and got 4 $2 beers (i.e. ciders) and some snacks and had a fun time talking with the employee who's a yarnie. Sadly, she's likely to move, darn it. Then I got my sixth free Krispy Kreme, got gas, went home and made lunches.

Kelly got critiques from a playwright festival on the suffragist play and overall, they were fairly positive and reasonable. Some things I assumed would come up and certainly did (length, lots of people, needed proofreading), occasionally I was all "uh, you want the lesbian relationships cut out?" and one person said that an American wouldn't know who Doctor Who was in 1970 because it wasn't in the US since 1972 (awww).

Karaoke: the DJ from Miss Darla's came, I presume Jim gave him an invite to talk shop and the like. Ashley and I knitted through things. I actually got to do 3 songs before leaving: I did "Tainted Love" per Jim's request (Ashley was doing songs from Saturday too!) and then "Counting Stars," and before I left Ashley asked me to join her on "Bad Day."

Next week, I presume I can be there full time? Fingers crossed!?

Shrek rehearsal, tech week, night one: They're not happy with my green screen, but my background on here works just fine, SO LET'S JUST GO WITH THAT. It's around 100 degrees outside and I am wearing two full body covering costumes at once for the quick change and I can't put on a fan because of Zoom. SUCH A SWEATHOG, LITERALLY.

There are around 30 videos of this, though some of them are short, I guess.

Video seen: * opening scene in which young Shrek is kicked out of his house for no good reason. Looks really good, actually. * Opening scene in which Fiona is kicked out of her house. * The Happy Villagers.. all in black cloaks, LOOKING TOTALLY EFFING CREEPY and the song is a little off and one person gets a pitchfork...good lord, the dissonance on the visuals, there, followed by Shrek's first "Big Bright Beautiful World." * The Goodbye Song: very cluttered. Oy! * Donkey's pleading song. Very good, actually, greenscreenwise. * Things Are Looking up Here In Duloc: oh good god, what happened with Andy's green screen? He went poofsies during the filming. And then the whole screen turns green...did anyone notice?! * Travel Song is CRAZY ELECTRIC BLUE GRASS with some radioactive green in the back. What the heck happened here? There is also a random Puss in Boots that pops up in the back! And then a bunny randomly shows up, and a cow over the moon...and the Death Star (with Imperial March below), and a knife and fork, and Simba...SO RANDOM, IT'S DELICIOUS. (Also, Donkey just figured out the "compensating for something" joke.) * And suddenly, they're on a bridge to hell! Steve: "Guys, I forgot the lava, I'm sorry." * They just realized that the knights trapped in Castle Dragon don't have their outfits to give lines because they thought that was recorded. OOPS. "It's really cool if you're into Game of Thrones, I stole the dragon from there." -Steve on the dragon's song, which isn't done yet. * "Morning Person" has Disney bird and butterflies flitting around. "It was the easiest one because it only had one person." -Steve. Robert: "Steve, was this all for the birds making this?" Fiona breaking the bird as it bursts into flames is GREAT. Then a random deer bows down to her. "Bird Scene directed by Michael Bay," said Adam. Then Fiona dances around and eats a butterfly. "I'm never going to get over the butterfly! I can't!"-Morgan * "I Think I Got You Beat." a song in which one sings about dealing with her chamber pot. Morgan gets very insult-dance-y in this. "It's a gas to watch this," Robert said during the farting scene. Somehow they manage to make Donkey walking into a tree and falling down work, though! * Ballad of Farquaad: Andy certainly looks...short....and shiny and in an empty room. OH JESUS THE MINUET IS A TRAINWRECK. What a mess. I didn't think he could line up people but it doesn't look like he tried? Lifting Farquaad actually kinda works though? Sorta? * Shrek and Fiona now play air guitar together. Adorable. * Make A Move isn't started yet, but we saw the tag. Three blind girls in white dresses. Strange. Judah looks like he's having fun, though. * When Words Fail is very touching. At least Shrek is in the dark for this.... * "This Morning," I think we were all just waiting for Fiona to eat another butterfly again.

In other events:

Morgan's green screen is being weird. Jan: ""Steve can fix it afterwards." Steve: "Steve can't fix it. "I don't like her. Wait, was that on?" (He's kidding.) Fiona is now shake her tambourine. LOUDLY. While dancing.
Steve loses it so hard while Fiona preps for Shrek's entrance.
Judah points out that he can't turn the screen off and on with gloves on. "Me either, I have to leave one off," I said. So Judah's got one glove through the entire thing now.

At intermission, we find out that Andy, in full costume, is lurking behind Jan in her office. "Jan, there's a creature in your office!"

Trivia question: what's the castle from? Monty Python.
"The orchestra sounds really good and extremely consistent." -Steve.
Morgan puts on her disco ball Mickey Mouse ears to dance around. She pulls out her flowers to dance around too. Morgan suggested the ears as a sight gag. Steve will leave it to Jan.
Apparently Morgan had some Monster energy drink up in the tower.
Steve on being in a tower: "I wouldn't make it for one day." ]"You've made it through the pandemic. Imagine poor Fiona, she didn't even know there WAS A pandemic." -Steve
Adam tells a tale about how his belt turns invisible. "I got screwed over." -Adam. "And not in the happy spanky way." -Steve.

Steve doing Gingy and the captain of the guard's voices (as those folks are somehow on vacation during tech week) is obviously having a very good time.

"Awkward. The Door Dash guy just came with my dinner." -Judah walks off to answer it, in donkey gear.
The cave scene, or barn, or whatever, where Donkey finds out Fiona's an ogre? They are very daylight in this scene and not indoors. Uh.....why is this an outside scene, or did they just not put all the backgrounds up yet?
Morgan gets bored and starts twirling around for fun while they try to figure out how to get Andy on a horse. Andy can only get head or feet in a scene. They go for his feet. This ah....looks like he's got a horse head right at his crotch. "I have no jokes right now. There are NO WORDS." -Judah
Arianna, currently in Italy at 6 a.m., comes into Zoom to say hi and that she's sick, but not Covid. She briefly says her line and then goes back to bed. "Now we're a real international production." "I thought there was music." "You thought wrong, Dorothy." -Jan and Steve


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com