Chaos Attraction

B&tB Begins

2022-07-05, 3:00 p.m.

It's been A Day.

My day started out with my work laptop refusing to load all the screens. That's pretty par for the course, but what isn't so par is that the entire touchpad stopped working. That's happened a few times before, but rebooting it usually fixes that (assuming the computer LETS ME REBOOT, because it wants me to swipe the screen down to do that...AND I CAN'T DO THAT WITH NO TOUCHPAD). Except today that didn't work and I rebooted it six fucking times between 8 and the 8:30 meeting, which I totally missed. It would not work, nor would my wireless mouse even after I put in a new battery. NO response. I had to text my boss and she was all "come into the office, having to reboot it 10 times" (I did it four more) "is ridiculous." Also, all the managers have to get their laptops from 2018 replaced today so a techie was supposed to be in anyway. So SIGH, I had to get dressed and procure lunch and go to the office by 9ish. I guess this worked out for them because all the people assigned to the office today, except for the boss, were out sick or whatever. But still, grumble. My "day out" is now tomorrow.

I was going to wear the awesome new halter dress I got this weekend...which is boobilicious. (Rae was all "oooh, you're a woman" to this later.) I'm wearing a tank top that matches it underneath, but figured I'd wear some kind of shirt over all of that at work. And I could find no tops that matched, so I had a slightly clashy T on, wah, my fashion sense. I ditched that after work.

Anyway, I demonstrated to my boss how this shit was not working and she suggested plugging in a mouse...which worked. I then spent an hour on the phone with tech support, which was a good bit of "You can use the mouse with a cord, right?!?" and he installed 11 BIOS things that did not fix it at all. He said he'd try to add me onto my boss's ticket, but it might not work. AND THEN THE TECH GUY DIDN'T COME ANYWAY because all the new laptops are defective. Sheesh, work.

So yeah, that's about how the work day went. Rae called me to say she had a migraine and I worried it was covid. (Saw her later, she did not appear to be that badly off.) I attempted to have Ashley order my dinner at the pizza joint ahead of time and she ended up ordering it hours early and eating it :P I switched to ordering salad so I could get it faster, at least.

As for therapy, I had to keep it quiet in the office about how my review went. She said she thought they were being pretty shitty in telling me how awful I am all the time and that doesn't help any. "I think she feels obligated to tell me," I said. She said it doesn't help anything to tell someone they look awful in a dress and there's other ways to tell them to wear another dress instead.

Also, regarding my general suckitude: "You have to keep fighting it off. That's your Moriarty." "We recognize that we are not complete losers." "In some of your chosen areas, you are not as successful. You keep trying. You don't give up."
She also said I'm in the wrong milieu and I should be doing stuff I make up myself and play to my strengths. Well, storytelling is wrecked these days since I don't have any new stories since 2020 that have a resolution/moral/ending. She said I should just riff on having no ending and I said no, those really suck and everyone hates that. She then said I need to do something where there is a possible ending, who knows there.

After work, I think everyone was a wee bit cranky at karaoke? Ashley had an appointment moved to be around her vacation and she's annoyed, Rae was a wee bit cranky but not unpleasantly so on the migraine, and well, let's say I saw something that I am not going to comment on that's concerning. Her mom asked if I could be a fill in caregiver and get training and I was all "don't think I'll have time with the show and all, sorry." Bea, at least, was cheerful and I actually saw her smile and look happy for like, the first time ever. I note this was during a story in which she was proven right about her mother kayaking in their pool. I was only there around an hour.

After that, Beauty and the Beast!

28 people in the cast, 21 of them are ladies, one dude will have to do all the ensemble dude parts. Not sure how the Gaston bar scene is going to go with that one....do we all dress up as dudes or they just have one guy and the silly girls or what? I would presume they get Shorthaired Sarah and Annie (tallest ladies in ensemble) to play guys or something, after that, I dunno.

Katrina was "Covid girl" (thanks, Steve) and Steve had her on Zoom on his iPad. It was kind of amusing how they put her on a stand and rotated it around so she could see people. I kept waving at her, but who knows if she could see it. On a related note, Steve said that 27 people in Music Man had covid and I freaked even more, and Scott was all "no, it was more like 20." I dunno, still bad?! They are making masks optional (SIGH...why....I mean, look at what just fucking happened and of course the moment "optional" comes up, there go half the masks) but home tests have to be done Mondays and Thursdays. The cost of this was definitely brought up (Scott: "I spent seventy dollars." Me: "I spent 95") and everywhere that supposedly hands out free tests was mentioned. Sigh.

Jean (actress) said that Bye Bye Birdie was canceled on this last Sunday because too many people got it both offstage and on and they couldn't do the show. Sigh. I said you gotta see a show as soon as you can these days and everyone else was all "Yeah, don't get tickets for the last weekend..."

On a further depressing related note, Scott's dad got it this weekend. "Probably while he was out shopping." (I winced at that, but...yeah, they're all going mask free now so I guess that'll happen.) He said his dad got symptoms starting Saturday, tested positive Monday, and even though Scott had it 6 weeks ago he's moving to his grandparents' for the duration and kept a mask on for the rehearsal, thank goodness. (Because yes, we hugged four times again and sat next to each other again. Seriously, I can't stay away and neither can he. He just keeps coming up for hugs and we did that more times after rehearsal.) His mom is still fine...for now...but sleeping in Scott's room.

Quotes I wrote down during introductions:

Steve (note: there's another Steve in it, playing Maurice, assume I mean Steve/director unless I say otherwise. Can't differentiate on hair color there. Same with the brown-haired Jeans.) does not like some of the adjustments made to the show:
"They turned a Tony-award-winning show into a piece of crap," and blamed it on Ricky Martin.
Also Steve: "I've had 40 surgeries and am mostly not human."
"You can't go in the West Wing because Martin Sheen is still stuck there."

Ryan (Gaston): "Of the six shows I've been in, I died in 4 of them."
Jared (Beast): "I've either die or been violently beaten in every show." (Same happening again here!)

Alisa: "I'm married to the beast."
Other Steve: "There's a movie in there somewhere."

Molly has been in 13 shows. Steve has been in 410 shows here. Jean (costumes) said most people will get 3 costumes apiece. I'll be surprised if I have more than "villager" and "dancing napkin."

I enjoyed how Steve and Jan and I were all nitpicking the plot holes, like "How many days is this? and "How are they getting food?" (Scott said something about singing pork and dancing veal being pretty perverse.) Steve on the rose: "What a crappy payment."

Ryan is being told to mispronounce words. Me: "I love how they're French and can't pronounce French."

Sierra: "What show am I in again?"

Rachelle: "I just kicked my shoe into the audience."

Steve told a story about having to stop a previous B&tB show to fix a curtain. "Anyone from out of town? Belle, Beast, come out and meet the folks...."

Other Steve: "Punctuation saves lives!" Me: "Let's eat Grandma!"

I never get tired of hearing about how Sierra was traumatized by playing the wardrobe in middle school. In an ill fitting wardrobe, with a ballgown underneath and 3-inch heels and being told to walk around on a staircase and dance. She said to her mom "what will you do if I fall down?" and her mother said "stand up and say, that's my daughter."

Sierra: "Let's put all the cushy chairs in the women's dressing room. Not my first rodeo." (Scott rightfully critiqued that while putting chairs away, but I agree with her logic, as a lady...hahahah.)

As for actual parts, a lot of people can do the movie voices dead on--Belle, Babette, Beast, Cogsworth, etc. Of course Scott is fabulous at French accent and everything. I'm kinda sorry I'm not in the show more and not in any scenes with him except Be Our Guest (I guess it's just the opening, BOG and the mob scene and that's it for ensemble), but oh well. As usual, any minor parts go to other people. We were told to say our parts during intros and I was all "I don't do parts, I'm just ensemble." Sigh. This is going to be a long show, though. Lots of songs I haven't heard before that were neither in the movie nor the kids' version, so hmmmm.

We don't have rehearsal the rest of the week, weirdly enough. Belle/Beast/Maurice rehearse Wednesday, Tomas's party is Thursday, and that's it. Set building won't be until August so I don't feel too bad about doing a murder mystery gig in July. They said they were going to redo the stage and then build giant...platform(s) or something.

I did talk to him afterwards about the above mentioned parental stuff, him seeing Top Gun and I said I came in on Saturday but he wasn't there. He was all "when was that?" and I said midday and he said he must have been in the back. I think he was a little bothered at missing me? (Hopefully?) I said I felt weird asking for him if he wasn't around and he said that was all right. (Plus uh, four hugs.) Won't be seeing him the rest of the week, alas--he got invited to Tomas's party but doesn't really know him so I presume he will not go (said "maybe" but I know what that means with him), said he'd see me next week.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com