Chaos Attraction

The Hard Emails

2022-07-06, 3:06 p.m.

I think the entire permastaff group of the public service team got covid. One of them admitted to recovering from it again and another one was out last week and will be out all of this week. (The third one is back.) And the part-timers are getting it too. This is just ridiculous.

On the good news side, Grandboss bought me some alpaca yarn to give next time we're IRL together, so there's that!

I was a good girl today and actually went through The Hard Emails, which most of the time I avoid doing. I managed to weed out some of the darned things, or send them to my boss, or go "oh hey, I guess someone figured out how to do that on their own already, hahahahah" about it. I should get an award for that. Perhaps one of those Dundies I saw at Cost Plus?

I got my script bound at lunch. Jean (costumes) insisted on putting the costume contract on green paper, which I put at the back of the script pile. I had "Beauty and the Beast" on the front (colored in the drawing, no less), but the girl mistook the bright green paper for the front and bound it totally backwards and then had to reprint it and rebound it again. Which, shit happens, but then I got charged for the photocopying of it again...sigh.

On another sigh note, I ordered a dress off Amazon and I was told it was delivered at the end of the workday, but no package outside the door, in my mailbox or even the back patio (not that that was likely). I was directed to a chatbot, which said "okay, it looks like it might have been marked off as delivered too soon, give it until tomorrow, we can't do anything until then anyway." Darn it. I was really looking forward to that dress AND being home to get it...otherwise I won't be this week :(

After work, I had my singing lesson. We worked on "Once Upon A Dream" (she said we weren't doing Fifty Percent after that because those are totally opposite songs). She had me kind of phonetically write out different ways to pronounce the words, a bit more English-ish (I felt like Eliza Doolittle). So that was tricksier than I expected from working on it without going over it with her first.

After that, I went through the Beauty and the Beast script to bookmark songs. Ensemble may only do about six at the most, I think.

I wonder what they are going to do with "Gaston" with only one lone dude. Do we all have to dress up as dudes? I note the music isn't geared towards like, baritones as far as I can tell. Just kind of middle-range notes. If not for the whole "every guy here'd love to be you, Gaston" line, we could just have all the women there swooning over Gaston. I dunno. I'd love to be in it because I think that one's hilarious, but who knows.
There's also "Human Again," which is billed as ensemble but as far as I see looks like just the lead furniture people singing it. Which...honestly, I'm not really into the song (from what I recall, it was a cut song originally and once I heard it, I was all "its fine to cut that." Does that need any cutlery?
"Transformation/Finale" is marked as ensemble, I assume that's just like, background notes offstage stuff.
So of actual songs I am probably in, it's "Belle," "Be Our Guest," and "The Mob Song," all of which are good. This shall be a long but lazy show for the likes of me, I suspect. Lots of time backstage to knit.

And after that, I read murder mystery scripts--specifically mostly the 80's script. Emeri said previously it was a little buggy on the plot and hm, yeah, I'm all "needs typos fixed" there. Also confusing is that if I do hosting for it, the host is a guy, but Emeri was all "yeah, we can convert that to his girlfriend," which seems slightly confusing? I should work on the whole "take notes on stuff to learn" bits, but I didn't get that far into it tonight since I kept rereading the script.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com