Chaos Attraction

County Fair

2022-07-08, 3:09 p.m.

Friday: had the day off from work, went to Mom's, went to the Alameda County Fair. It's still a pretty good fair, albeit the shopping options are less good than they used to be (seriously, so much huckster crap, but that is at every fair now). I can still find clothes though, of course. I ended up buying a tie-on top that matches a pair of my hippie pants, and then another pair of tie-dyed hippie pants that are super long (I have the legs of a 6 footer, per my comparing myself against tall people, and I was still tripping over myself, oh well). Mom bought nothing, which disappointed her, but on the other hand she's literally bought ALL of the Hawaiian jewelry one can buy, so that's probably for the best. It was pretty quiet on a Friday afternoon/night. Looked at crafts (they still have a pretty good selection here), trains, and watched a drone show, which I enjoyed in lieu of fireworks. The drones light up and fly in shaped formations--pigs, corn dog, flag, blue ribbon, stuff like that.

Then we went over to Roger's for a bit. He won't go to anything crowded in case a bomb goes off, and I mentioned the drone show thing and then he was going on about the horrible creepy stalker things one can do with drones (note: former nuclear physicist who volunteered with the police here) and I was all..."..."... to this. On a related party pooping note, Mom told me you lose 36 minutes off your life every time you eat a hot dog, which...WTF. I didn't need to know that either!

Otherwise she has been very chill and even had the bed cleaned off when I got here, which is the first time in forever on that one.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com