Chaos Attraction

Man of La Mancha

2022-07-09, 3:10 p.m.

Rehearsal schedule is up: I have rehearsals for big songs Sunday/Monday/Tuesday this week and then nothing again until next Wednesday, which seems strange. I'm going to go see Kiss Me Kate in Sac on one of my days off. Also means I get a day off on a karaoke day, which is cool. I guess

We haven't done much today. Pretty much lazy-ass day, really. Sleeping in, lying about in bed, not going out for lunch until 1. Mom wanted to go to the cemetery and the high school because she is fascinated by the construction. Me, not so much. Mostly just reading and knitting around here. Mom had me read The Personal Librarian. It was very good.

We went out to dinner and I wanted to eat outside. Mom was all "Roger and I eat inside ALL THE TIME." I tried not to facepalm about this and said I already do it 1-2x/week (karaoke and also if there's a theater thing) and I don't think it's a good idea and I should not be doing it, BUT I can't really figure out how to socially manage without doing it (can't hang out with people in a restaurant without eating) and if it's at all possible, I'd just like to NOT have to worry about it by eating outside, okay? So we ate alone and I was fine with that.

On a fun related note, now articles are coming out about how it's now dangerous to be unmasked outside as well. I want to cry.

We went to go see Man of La Mancha last night. Randall was here with us this month (last month he went with the new boyfriend, this month he's seeing it with us AND the new boyfriend on another night, no idea what will be on month three). He said that was going well. Also he had on rainbow Coach shoes, which I thought was great. Otherwise he did tell us about an awful coworker who finally quit, and he and Mom went on about various family dramaz again. I admit I walked off at one point....it's a lot. I think that is their main point of conversation.

They still have Beauty and the Beast merch (from years ago!) at Woodminster for $1, so I bought a bag and two roses. I may give one to Scott later.

I had on an N95 during the show and I have no idea how the inside of it was somehow...wet?...towards the end of Act 1. Seriously, it wasn't hot out, I wasn't sweating, I've never had that happen during anything else even when walking around IN heat. I had to go get a paper towel to stuff it with during intermission and then throw the darned thing out for wetness later. Bleah.

As for the show itself, it was very good. I saw the movie yonks ago (high school?) and did not remember it had the whole framing/prison story thing. They had an awesome dungeon/castle jail on the stage for that. They actually had the cast hanging around outside, doing warmups and rehearsing a bit, which was cool. Don't see that often here. You really feel for Aldonza in this one and you do wonder, is it better to just embrace the reality that you want to see in the world? Hmmm.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com