Chaos Attraction

Back To The Movies

2021-07-10, 7:58 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
First Camelot Rehearsal - 2021-07-15
Back In The Office Again - 2021-07-14
Brutus Is An Honorable Man - 2021-07-13
Amazing Karaoke - 2021--07-12
Shrek Performance #3 - 2021-07-11

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

It's supposed to be over 110 degrees today. To that end, I sat outside reading about Roosevelts in the early-ish morning, then went to the gym and read about more Roosevelts while doing that until about noon.

Then I went to go see Black Widow. I was paranoid and wore my KN95 mask (did I need it? I don't know....) over there for indoors for 3 hours, but most people were not, just the employees. There was a fair to middling number of people in there (I note there was some entire girls' sports team). Probably would have been a lot more if there wasn't a pandemic since it's a Marvel movie, but whatever these days. Hell, technically I bought 2 tickets to it since I screwed up and bought one for Friday at 2 rather than Saturday at 2 :P

What can I say about the movie? I liked it well enough. I'd be happier with it IF NATASHA WAS STILL ALIVE AND IT WASN'T A FLASHBACK, OR IF THEY HAD FUCKING RESURRECTED HER AT THE END OF THE MOVIE, WHICH THEY STILL DID NOT, sigh. But it's a good movie overall about her reuniting with her Americans-style "fake spy family"* that she was in for 3 years as a blue-haired pre-teen** to take down the Red Room. Apparently Budapest was Clint and Natasha blowing up the Red Room guy....OR SO THEY THOUGHT. Anyway, after their little spy family was discovered and split up, Natasha and her "little sister" Yelena were Red Roomed and Yelena was still literally brainwashed into being a Black Widow until someone she was murdering unleashed some antidote on her, giving her free will again. Yelena gets the antidotes and contacts Natasha somehow to get her involved, and they end up tracking down their "parents" to find the current Red Room.

* I seriously don't get why the Russians would recruit orphans into being in a fake spy family. Obviously these kids weren't born into it a la The Americans, but you grab a 3-year-old and a whatever-age-Natasha-was and throw them into a fake family for a 3 year mission or whatever? I get that it looks convincing, but there are SO MANY OTHER ISSUES WITH THIS IDEA that they should really rule out "looks convincing." ** I remember the flashback year and I don't remember anyone having easy access to blue hair dye back then, especially a pre-teen?!

I won't get into major plot stuff, but it had a lot of deadpan Russian snark, particularly Yelena, who loves to make fun of Natasha's pose at every opportunity. Alexei, the "dad" who's the Russian, less-famous equivalent of Captain America, is also pretty dang funny. Like I said, liked it well enough, just wish this whole storyline and plotline had a future to go with? Except Yelena is apparently some kind of recruit by Countess Fancyname and working as an assassin, so I guess she will turn up again somewhere.

I got various people leaving messages while I was in said movie: Marty will drop off my yarn bomb tomorrow, and OH, JAN INVITED ME TO BE IN CAMELOT!!!! That would be their production that got interrupted by pandemic that they are going to do the rest of in August. They had another girl drop out to go into the military or something and they need one more for the ensemble, so another guy (Brian, whoever that is, hope he's nice) and I got recruited. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAY! Crash course in the music, medieval costumes, rehearsing in person only starting August 9 (hmmmm), well, I'll figure out something. I'm super psyched!

Shrek Performance #2: Steve: "Notice that I'm a lot calmer." Me: "Enjoy it while it lasts." Adam puts up a background of penguins: "Finally, I'll be alone!" Adam: "So the makeup I thought was useless, turns out it just needed water!" He watched one YouTube... Steve: "That's how I learned video editing." Steve has added an MGM logo with Shrek in it roaring. Judah is preaching in Sacramento and won't get here until 7:45. That makes me nervous...He arrived at 7:56. WHEW. "Everybody, break a leg! Donkey, break a hoof." -Steve. I mention that Dawn has suggested "break a computer chip!" Steve was all "My computer chips are chocolate." Robert thought it was potato chips. Steve, extremely deadpan: "Roar. Roar. Roar. Roar. Stop." Steve to Judah, who is unable to answer at that time: "What was tonight's sermon, don't go with green people?" Judah has now thrown in "And funnel cake!" on his list of souvenirs to get. So I'm in about the first half hour of the show, finishing around 8:30 and then aren't back on again until 10....LAZINESS FOR THE WIN! Aubree (in Duloc Dancer outfit, supposed to have castle background) briefly puts on a lava background just to screw with Steve. "You're so weird," he replies. "We're totally on this stage together." -Steve. "But what about Covid protocols? Oh, let's just do virtual shows from now on. NOOOOOOOOOOOO." Andy slo-mo hams up his quiet response to "Are you Lord Farquaad?" Adam's on mute. Judah: "I wanna know, Shrek!" I'm amused that for some reason Judah's camera is manifesting some kind of black cloud in the corner?! "You look like you've been attacked by some Mark of the Beast." -Steve to Adam with the lava background. While waiting, Carter fools around with his sword, making it disappear within the green screen. Steve: "You're so weird." "I saw that, Carter." "Rubbing alcohol, where have you BEEN all my life?" -Adam, post-green.

No screwups again tonight! Yay!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com