Chaos Attraction

Was That A Second Date?

2022-07-10, 3:11 p.m.

Sunday, hoooooo boy. I went out to lunch with Mom and Roger, then went to WalMart to get a new dashboard cover, then drove back home, got groceries, put stuff away, blah de blah. Oh yeah, and my dress showed up....TWO OF THEM BOTH SHOWED UP AT THE SAME TIME. Hah.

Oh, I forgot to mention license plates I saw this weekend: Friday: License plate that said "4EVRNEV" and the frame said "I Love You To The Moon And Back." AWWWWW.
Sunday: a guy in a total penis car that had the license plate "EEGO TRP." I wanted to say, "I appreciate your honesty...." a car with the license plate "RAPUNZL," which excited me no end and I was so sad I could not photograph it. Driven by a beardy older guy, FYI. one that said "2METWNZ," so twin reference?

After finishing up doing boring chore stuff, I was just about to start looking for food when....I got a text from Scott! Yes, he initiated and everything! Asked "Whatcha up to?" and I was all blah blah just got back into town not really doing anything, you? and he said he finished with the show and was going to get food. I can take a hint :) Asked where he was going (noodle place), I asked if he would like company, he said "yeah, that'd be great!" he said he'd get a table for two :)

So I walked over there, we had dinner (he paid again....hmmm), mostly talked about B&tB, I told him about seeing Man of La Mancha. I did talk to him about karaoke and the places in the area that do it. He was all, haven't done it in a few years but I miss Matt because he was an audio engineer and Jim isn't. I was thinking "well, most of them probably are NOT audio engineers, so...." sigh.

Oh, and his mom got covid too :( Finally tested positive Friday, so she definitely won't be able to see the show (his dad's 10 days is midweek so he might be able to). His dad though he could go work on the house and I was all "ummm, bad idea, I read that you can get long covid if you work through it." (Later, he talked to his dad and his dad was apparently all "yeah, I shouldn't have done that.")

Notes on Arielle: (a) he went to a ballet show of hers about a month ago, (b) he'd rather have her as a Babette (height-wise since Jessica is short...um....). so....yeah.

After that, we still had time to kill before rehearsal and the bookstore closes early, so we went to the comic book store and then were wandering the streets (about 20 minutes of this) when....

Well, he started having an allergic reaction.* It was a place he'd been to before but not for years, I gather he got pork buns there for the first time and suspects maybe that did it. He got very red, we hurried back to his car to get his Benadryl stash, he said he needed water and I immediately pulled a fresh bottle out of my bag. (I was really proud of myself, like, "hey, I did have a fresh one in there I hadn't half drunk already! Thanks, Mom!") So much for rehearsal...I note it was "Be Our Guest" night, his big solo. Ouch.

* note: this pretty much sounds like something that happens every first or second date with people with food allergies, or so I seem to have read a lot about on the Internet. So, not totally shocked it happened really, other than "Really? at the Asian restaurant?! Since when do they have dairy?" Figured it'd happen sometime/kind of a lot, even though this is only the second time I've been around him having a more major reaction.

Anyway, he started feeling like it was a bad one, so we discussed stuff like "did he ever get that epi-pen" (yes, but it's at work because he suspected he shouldn't leave a hot one in the car) and oh yeah, his parents can't come get him like last time because they have covid. So we debated driving him to his grandparents' house about a half hour away vs. going to the one ER in town and was this bad enough to need to do the latter one. Since we didn't have three people around for this, I figured if I did have to take him home in his car, I'd have to spend the night over there, so we briefly went to my place and I did like a 3 minute packing of an overnight bag (helped that I'd barely unpacked from the weekend) and grabbed a book for me and potentially a book for him if things got boring. While I did that, he called Steve to let him know, but apparently forgot to mention I was there/driving him, oops. Had to text Steve that I was going to be with Scott and possibly taking him to the ER.

Anyway, he kept driving for a bit and was clearly getting worse, so I asked him to pull over and get out of the driver's seat. Yeah, clearly we needed to go to the ER. I at least managed to figure out how to drive his car without issues, thank goodness. I dropped him off, parked, then went in and was al "I'm with him" (points). I had wondered if I'd have to, I dunno, fake we're engaged or something to bring him in--also I was thinking of the "only the person who brought him in can visit" thing that went down with his dad in January--but they didn't ask for details. They asked me to show my ID and proof of vax and gave me a visitor sticker to put on, then he and I sat there in the waiting room for a bit. It wasn't too busy, but there were a few weird characters in there: one guy who kept griping about having to get his hand looked at and it sucks, and one guy who was wearing his mask around his chin (YOU'RE AT A HOSPITAL, DUDE) and at one point randomly asked to take his shirt off because he was hot.

He was very red, itchy, possibly closing throat up a bit(?) and then he keeled over onto the floor and was probably about to barf, so I grabbed a trash can, grabbed his wallet when it hit the floor. He did manage to find the restroom, where apparently he had to vomit in a urinal since the stalls were booked. Of course, they called his name during that and I told the female nurse he was in the bathroom and maybe she needed to send someone in there. "Well, I can't go in there either," she said, and I was all "maybe find a guy coworker then?" I'm not sure what went on from there, but he was eventually out, getting blood pressure taken and braceleted, then they sent him back out to the waiting room again.

Oddly enough, the vomiting made him feel better/in a lot less pain and he was debating whether or not to just leave if it didn't get worse, but they did manage to call him pretty quickly, as maybe we were in there a half hour-ish before he got called. I asked if I could hug him and he said yes, that was okay, so I put my arm around him and put my head on his shoulder and he was resting his head against mine. I felt so bad for him that he felt bad and wished I could do more than what I was doing.

He got called in and I pulled out my new book, reasonably assuming I'd be out there for like, hours, and also texted Steve with an update ("oy"). Within a few minutes Scott texted me saying I can come back there if I like, he's just lying on a gurney.* They did send someone to come get me and there was already a chair at the end of the gurney, so I sat there. We debated if I could move the chair over to be next to him, then figured it might be an issue for the staff, which it would have been since they kept wheeling a computer over there periodically.

Note: looking at our text chain on this day is perversely hilarious, because it goes from "Sweet! See you in a bit!" about my meeting him at the restaurant, and then a few hours later it's texting about meeting him in the ER.

Anyway, various people came over to check on him, they gave him some more pills, they got confused on his insurance and prescribed him some more drugs for the week, he said he was fine and they let him go around 9. At which point he wanted to go by the theater and see if rehearsal was still going on, and I admit I was thinking same. I said he'd get a standing O going in there, which was pretty funny since they were all standing around to do "Be Our Guest" one last time and he walked in, ready to do it. I feel bad that he won't get to rehearse it (sheesh), but he said he'll just listen to the Broadway soundtrack, which he had on in the car anyway, After the one song, everyone else got dismissed, but we hung around talking to people for a bit. I guess S&J weren't that clear that I had been around at the time the reaction started. I note that Omar (Cogsworth) wanted to hug him, which I thought was so sweet. I was thinking, "Aw, you don't even really know him yet and you want to hug? I smell bromance!"

Apparently Mrs. Potts also wasn't there tonight, had some kind of accident/vague medical issue go on, so I guess unless they find time to rehearse them both, they won't be doing it again, sigh.

He was fine to drive himself back home, so he gave me a ride back home, and we hugged in the car...close, stroking my shoulder. Awwwwww. He said he was glad I had been there.

So...does that count as a second date? I'm totally asking my therapist in a few days. I feel like something is changing here :)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com