Chaos Attraction

Amazing Karaoke

2021--07-12, 11:06 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Shrek Night Four - 2021-07-17
Ninety Percent Bad - 2021-07-16
First Camelot Rehearsal - 2021-07-15
Back In The Office Again - 2021-07-14
Brutus Is An Honorable Man - 2021-07-13

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I can't do anything right today: (a) I got reported on that I fucked something up from a brand new official at Giant Org. (b) I sent the correction to be approved by the Gods of The Giant Org. (c) Then I made a typo on THAT, so I fucked that up too. (d) It turns out I didn't actually even fuck up the thing originally--it was someone else who's since quit Giant Org who did that. (e) When my coworker pointed this out, my boss pretty much didn't get it and ignored what we were trying to say entirely. (f) I gave up on trying to bring this up with the brand new official because I will just get myself in even more trouble. (g) And they're short on phones today!!!! Fuck me with a chainsaw. (Though I think Meg's prayer that "someone else will answer the phones" still worked, they didn't page me to do it.) Anyway, it was a day of many technical failures and crap and even my boss was all "It's been quite a day" when I found other stuff wasn't working in the system.

I hung out with Eva during lunch, mostly griping about work stuff, obviously. I'm going to miss hanging out with her online once a month. I don't think either of us can Zoom at lunch once we are back in the office. May have to try the in-person thing at some point.

In other news, Penguin Girl went to Disneyland during pandemic and did not quite recommend the experience. No FastPass, no shows, nowhere to sit in air conditioning, just standing in long lines all day, can't get into the new stuff without doing it first thing in the morning, etc. Yeah, I still think I'd rather wait until at least 2022 to do Disneyland again.

Karaoke, on the other hand, was amazing. I didn't bother to text anyone to try to get them to come, but Rae was back from Hawaii and wanted to do singing and dancing, so I pretty much hung out with her until she and her family (and Ashley) left for ice cream at 8ish. I was quite occupied with her.

Jim managed to squeeze karaoke until nearly 10 p.m. tonight, or at least nobody made him quit, and it frequently turned into Large Group Numbers and Dance Party Time. "Don't Stop Believing" and "Bohemian Rhapsody" were done, that hasn't come up before. (Jim was making jokes about standard karaoke songs like "Picture.") "Sixteen Candles" was serenaded to an 18-year-old guy for his birthday, he seemed to take it well.

I lost track of how many songs I did? Did "Sweet Dreams" and "Hot and Cold" and "California Dreaming" with Rae, got recruited to try to back up a little girl doing "Under the Sea" (good lord, that's hard for a small child, look at the lyrics on that), did "Hard Times" and "Walking On Broken Glass" on my own. I did the last song of the night and when Jim asked me what I wanted to do, I said I haven't picked one out because I wasn't sure how long this was going to go, so you can pick. He picked "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" and while I wasn't quite sure if I could imitate Cyndi's voice, it got all the remaining ladies dancing into a giant dance party and that was delightful.

According to Jim, Walt is the bar owner's father. Well, we've been unclear on what Walt's connection to the bar is for awhile now, hopefully that's the correct one! In other news, Rance, the DJ at UOB, came tonight, so I have now met him. He says usually people from DMTC come over for karaoke.

I miss my old friends, but maybe I'm always just going to miss them, and frankly, I do not want to bother those who do not want to come (or he who I would rather never show up again, not that I need to worry about that). I will have fun on my own, thankyouverymuch.

I did get a letter from Cameron today after her dad died, so I will write back to that one later. Probably a long juicy letter that's half "been there, get that" and the other half being "hey, wanna hear distracting theater stuff?"

I also checked a Slack channel I hang out on, where I was grumbling about how the hell one is supposed to do musical auditions with a strange accompanist and you have no idea what they are going to do, and someone joined and said practicing the song at different tempos might be a good idea. Good one! Then ah, how do you find that? YouTube covers, I guess.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com