Chaos Attraction

Are Things Shifting?

2022-07-12, 3:14 p.m.

Work was fine, don't have much to say about it. I did two Zoom meet n' greets with the new coworkers and we had a good time chatting on work time. Other than that, more tedious lists.

I'm canceled out of the next murder mystery show--they picked the hardest show (the gangster one) and we are agreed that I am in no way ready to do THAT one on show #2! This is fine--frees me up to go to the state fair instead :) Emeri is also throwing a pizza party next week, which happily I can go to because no rehearsal that day. Huzzah!

Shanna has dropped out of Shiny Unicorns due to grad school, which under the circumstances of stuff going on with her, is probably all for the best. She juggles a lot.

Therapy: hooooo boy. Mostly enjoyed the experience, but got thrown a bit of a curveball at the end when she was all "You don't ever appreciate or cite therapy as making a difference, but you cite stuff like what Meg or a book said?" Which, legit. I apologized for hurting her feelings and she was all "well, you do devalue stuff with you too, maybe think about that." Sigh.

Told her about Mom actually cleaning off the bed, which is a damn miracle for her, and I mentioned Mom's supposed anger towards Roger "preventing" her from cleaning or going for a walk or whatever. My therapist was all "She's blaming him instead of you," and "She wants to be a victim." Also, "she picks on you because she's got nothing better to do."

As for the events of Sunday, I asked her if it was a date or not and she kinda hedged on that answer, noting "deliberate date" vs. the rest of it being an intimate experience when someone is seeing you being ill. We both shuddered at the idea of him eating at that place without me there and she said, "That's why the universe made sure that he called you."

I asked her about asking him to shows in August. Specifically (a) the Winters show and (b) my mom bought extra tickets to The Lion King. ("I don't know why I did that. Did you request them?" No? I've been twice and I figured I should leave my schedule clear for set building in August, was my logic.) I know he loves Lion King, but it's in San Jose during the day, during his work and/or set building time, so I think that one's not very likely. I'm not sure if Mom passed those tickets on to anyone else at this point either. She said the Winters show should probably be mentioned as a group activity, but Lion King would be different. I don't think that would really work because that would be all fucking day one way or another and it's most of 2 hours from here. Sigh.

She thinks it's shifting more with him and since I'm willing to invest more of myself, it's happening faster.

Rachel said she thought pork buns were made with milk to keep the dough together. Upon googling for "pork buns dairy," yup, those are made with milk. That explains that. Mentioned that to Scott and he was all "they didn't do that at other places where I ate them." I dunno, man.

Went to karaoke, sang three songs because there were a small number of singers, had a good time. Ashley's doctors forced her to cancel the trip she was going to go on and she is annoyed about that, but is making cute animals. Rae wore a rainbow dress and looked lovely. Jim wants to go back to Miss Darla's, I said maybe Friday once I'm out of a play. I ordered fettucine alfredo and seriously, it was just cheesy noodle soup, which was way too much, blech. Good thing I wasn't starving and the garlic bread that came with it was much better. I felt weirdly guilty about eating something with SO MUCH CHEESE after the weekend, which is weird since it's not like I'm allergic or making out with him. I don't like cheesy soup dishes (I'm also picky on what mac n' cheese I eat, same reason) anyway so that was still kind of ick, but today it was double ick. Oh well, I tried it. Will order something else next week.


Rehearsal: Belle, and Transformation/Finale. Everyone gets at least a bit of line solo-nses in the former, I'm singing the line about a crowd, albeit not alone. The cutlery all get to be in this scene, which I guess Steve needs to tell Jean (costumes) about...

Quotes:

"It's a town where Gaston beats everyone up." -Steve

Boris is having a fun time with people named Elissa and Alisa and Rachele and Rachelle. "How many e-lisa names are there?!"

Elissa was late because she got scratched by a cat and apparently is allergic to cats. Isn't that always how it goes, that allergic people have cats, said Tim?

Steve when assigning lines in the song: "Let's give Eve bacon (the bacon line) because she's a vegetarian."

Annie REALLY wanted the line about bringing the knife, and got it.

On another note, this is literally the most I've ever heard Annie say in my life tonight (we were in Shrek together, but she was quiet/online in that one, and she's been around for shows her sister Molly is in but mostly stage managing or sitting in the seats) and I'm really pleased to find out she has snark and a personality, because I was rather concerned that she never seemed to say anything. She also said she's not as cool as Molly. Molly had on a tie-dye shirt with a rainbow on it and rainbow shoes that I'd complimented (Jean was all "Jennifer always has rainbow as a theme," which is true yet again today) and Annie said she had the same shirt and when they stood together, it's a rainbow. That's so cute.

There's only 2 kids in this town and one guy? "The economic structure is going to crumble." -Anna

Boris: "Looks like everybody just chose a note, that's cool."

Who's singing Gaston? Ryan looks around blankly and silently.

Boris: "Hey, village people." Scott: "We resemble that remark."

Ryan: "I'm dead. Every show." (Someone was all "not in Titanic!" Um, yes, in Titanic?!)

Boris: "And all the hearing aids will just burst."

Steve: "We have the cast list out." Tim (gasps) "We finally know who's cast?!" Steve: "You're weird." Tim: "And you aren't?!"

And now I'm off from the show for over a week and won't see Scott for even longer than that since my only rehearsal next week is for a number he's not in, sigh. Though really, I've gone months without seeing him, so come on, stop whining.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com