Chaos Attraction

Epipen Ponderings

2022-07-13, 3:17 p.m.

I complain about the neighbors making some mechanical noise a lot at 5:30 a.m. Well, this morning they were just having regular ol' squeaky bed sex noises, which was somehow quieter. Early risers, indeed.

Anyway, while I was up all night, I started looking up crap on epi-pens--specifically videos on how to use them since I got told by Brian (of Winters theater and four food allergies, not the more recent DMTC Brian) years ago how to stick one in and that's all I recall about it. I don't recall him saying they go in the side of your thigh, I thought it was on the top. (Mostly I remember him being all, "People think you stick it in the chest like in Pulp Fiction. Don't do that.") Scott said the other day there are more varieties these days than the original expensive epi-brand, so I watched a few videos on different epipens, including one that literally TALKS TO YOU and tells you how to stick it in and for how long. Which is both helpful and computer-voice creepy. And while watching these things, I found out that there are epi-pen trainers where you can practice shoving one into yourself without the actual drug or needle, which sounded like a good idea.

But um, what model of these? I texted him asking what kind he got and he said it was some kind of generic brand name*, which turned out to be rather hard to find online. I found one video of how to use them, and one extremely divey website to order that brand, which frankly I don't think worked. I found two other sites offering a standard brand, plus Amazon, but the other two didn't work, so I ordered the thing off Amazon for $7. I think this is a pretty odd thing for me to be doing, but....well, you know.

I was all "okay, thank you" to this and he did not follow up...if it were me I would have wondered why I was asking, hmmmm. I doubt I'll tell him I'm doing this, it just seems weird. But I'd like to cover bases if/when this happens again and if he actually has the pen on him and needs it. I'm pretty sure giving my dad a diabetic shot while he was driving the car is not quite the same.

Work: felt pretty bad while at work, did more tedious list things and fixing broken things. The tech guy came by for 15 minutes and installed a bunch of stuff right before lunch, admitting he didn't think it would work to fix the touchpad. It ALMOST did...well, the touchpad itself will work again, but not the mouse buttons. So close and yet so far. Grandboss came in RIGHT at the end of the day to deliver another computer to swap out, I had no energy for this but obviously had to do it now since this is my last in-office day this week.

I went to lunch with Rachel, but ran into Jim from Winters theater, in a lovely neon outfit. (Alas, I was wearing a pale Kate Sharma cottagecore dress--that one I got the other day finally, twice--and was not up to his snuff. He was nice about it anyway.) He said he's playing one of the rude mechanicals in the show but did not specify which, other than "I think I've played this part a bunch of times."

After work, I had singing lesson. Mostly worked on "Once Upon A Dream," did "Fifty Percent" a bit. I have a looooong way to go in life, 'nuff said there.

I told Mom tonight about the whole weekend. Amusingly, she said I should buy an epipen to keep in my purse, just in case. "They're prescription only," I said, "but guess what I bought instead...."

I also said that I was pondering inviting Scott to The Lion King. Mom somehow bought 4 tickets to the show on the second Saturday afternoon in August instead of two. On the one hand, he loves The Lion King. On the other hand, the timing of that is utterly terrible/probably not doable for him because at the bare minimum he'd be working or doing set construction (and it's not great for me either, which is why I originally wasn't going to go.). So....I dunno. Anyway, she's been warned on that score. She'll probably pass it off to the neighbors if I can't, so.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com