Chaos Attraction

Attempting To Ask About A Third Date

2022-07-14, 3:18 p.m.

Had an 8: 15 a.m. emergency work meeting today and welp, my teammate Dianna got another job. In the office, mind you (Teresa's retiring and she got that job), but she's got like 1.5 weeks to go and then she's over there. I note that we had a full team of six FOR THREE DAYS BEFORE SOMEONE ELSE GOT ANOTHER JOB. (My boss sent a crying emoji in response to my saying this.) And Dianna does more of the special program crap than I do, so that's back on me again since everyone else is fresh and new....ARGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH. Though I guess this explains why we got a temp for my unit specifically now....I'm not sure how much notice my boss had on this ahead of time.

Also, remember how the touchpad was mostly working yesterday? Now it's back to broken again. Told this to my boss and she was all, "It's broken, Jennifer." I'm not in the mood to reconfigure computers again, I just put it in my calendar to redo it Tuesday.

Otherwise did more tedious lists, chatted with people, did some training, dealt with More International Drama, and then got told I was proven to have keyed something in the computer I don't remember doing for someone I don't remember and have no documented evidence of doing it for. Fuuuuuuuuuck.

In other news, I had to make arrangements for going to Come From Away (meeting times, who's driving, where to go eat afterwards) with Dawn and Mom. I was kind of hoping to not do dinner for four afterwards and avoid hanging with the family because I assume that will not be Dawn's (or anyone's) favorite thing ever and neither Mom nor I have been dining in SJ since pre-pandemic so fuck if I know where to go, but both Mom and Dawn wanted food and that forced me to look for restaurants with outdoor dining. I managed to get everyone to agree to Beach Hut.

I found out that the State Fair is now requiring clear bags of a certain size ONLY to get into the door and then after that you can do whatever you want with your bags including bringing other ones to put your crap in, so I had to order some. I ended up getting a backpack and two tote bags in case I end up bringing anyone else someday. I don't have any set plans yet to bring anyone (may ask Dawn during the weekend, we'll see if she'd want to), but just in case. I was considering going this Sunday but leaning more towards next Saturday since I'm now free, but if I have to wait on these bags then it's definitely next weekend. Oh well, maybe Sunday will be Crafting Day instead.

Dawn said the storytelling festival was good, and they had an actual good Native American storyteller this year. I'm sorry to have missed it, but current circumstances didn't feel great to do it under.

Loretta told me she finally found some vetted-by-the-FDA* colored masks on Amazon, so I ordered those. Then I found out about some mask company called Armstead that reviews masks on Amazon for safety and I compulsively searched through every colored mask on there to see what the reviews were and made a spreadsheet.

* note: apparently the FDA has now revoked their approvals of KN95 masks, but presumably you can check the list of ones they approved of previously, WHICH IS A TOTAL BITCH TO DO ON THEIR WEBSITE BTW, NO NON-MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL CAN PROBABLY READ THIS.

After work, I finally got up the nerve to ask Scott on The Lion King. Started out with "on a scale of 1-10, how into it are you?" and answer was for the original movie and not the soulless inferior remake, 9/10, but he had no idea on the stage musical. I started ranting about how I heard they were going to do live-action Lilo and Stitch and WHY GOD NO IT'S ALIENS FFS, then stopped myself from derailing further :P Then asked, acknowledging that the location/timing were probably crap for him. He said he'd have to see what the schedule looks like and get back to me, I said I'm not sure if I'm going to go myself but am pretty sure Mom can pass to the neighbors if necessary and he said "Fair enough. It would be cool!" I still have my playbook from the show, so I took a few pictures of it and sent them to him and he said "Cool!"

So, there you go. Not running in horror from the idea of spending time with me/my parental figures, at least, so there's that, and also gives me adulting points for the day, har har. We'll see.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com