Chaos Attraction

From Sordid to Wholesome

2021-07-19, 11:15 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Online Shoe Shopping - 2021-07-24
Servant of Two Masters - 2021-07-23
The Work Survey - 2021-07-22
Hanging out with Jackie Online - 2021-07-21
You're Still Butthurt - 2021-07-20

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: my boss is out, I am trying to not have to reach out to Grandboss (forced to twice but at least she didn't get on me for anything), and by 2 p.m. I was completely out of shit I know how to do and 60+ weird email questions in the group box I did NOT know the answers to. I spent at least an hour Googling for shit I couldn't find, trying to understand reports that made no sense and didn't actually explain what they wanted me to do, and when I passed one incoherent request for help to the disability office, got asked by the disability office as to what to do with him. Heck if I know! And that's just the ones I TRIED to answer. Then I tried to test the new computer system. I'm supposed to test if it can upload and as far as I can tell there is no setup whatsoever in order to actually upload.
God, I hate my job and this is an "easy" day because they didn't make us answer phones.

Karaoke was marvelous. Hung out with Rae for a bit and danced and had fun. She had on a lovely red dress. Did some more ballet to karaoke. I have been debating whether or not to bother to activate the karaoke group text or not, but I didn't need to because Redhead Sarah (and kids, minus dog) and Robert and Janene came all on their own, and had a good time too!

(I will note that Robert texted Scott trying to get him to show up, and flashed me a text from him saying "Nice! How long does it go again?" To which I was all, yeah, I still think he's not going to show up, and Robert was all, hey, we came from Fairfield, he could do the same. He did not. Of course not. Which is fine. Don't want him around any more making me feel unwanted....or tempted.)

Anyway, everyone had a good time. Sarah noted that karaoke has gone "from sordid to wholesome" now that her kids are there, and she is not so thrilled with that! We all discussed doing the Saturday night karaoke and they all at least sound interested in the moment (Robert and Janene said they'd actually be in town at some graduation thing that night, so maybe). So I may text them individually about that one. I asked why she got kicked off Tinder--a thing I saw on ze Facebook--and she said, "They thought I was a prostitute for saying I wanted a daddy, but only sexually, and I swiped on a lot of guys..." THE THINGS YOU LEARN, Y'ALL. Robert and Janene, by comparison, went bird watching. LOL.

We had more dance party experiences. There was some large birthday party there that night and we got 30(!) people singing, which is the most ever! Usually it's around 18 at the max. Some people did amazing numbers. One guy did "Wonderful World" in gravelly voice. Another guy did "Papa Was A Rolling Stone" and I did not know that song was soooooooooo slooooooooow to get to the singing. Jim recruited a guy he met at another karaoke bar last night and he was surprisingly good. There's a lot of surprisingly good here, really.

I did "Time After Time," as Jim requested more Cyndi. I did "Walk Away," dedicated to you-know-who in my heart, and finished with "Dancing In The Moonlight." Robert did "Happiness is a Warm Gun," Sarah did "Valerie," Janene did "Landslide." Old favorites. There was a lot of dancing. My pedometer on my watch says over 9000 steps, huzzah.

The night was finished off with an awkward tribute to Biz Markle in singing "Just A Friend," which I will note is very awkward to "sing" since most of it's just kind of him talking about cheating blah blah blah and once in a while it gets to the chorus. Oh well.

Janene did tell me what The Racist Incident was a few weeks ago that made Robert not want to come for awhile--some guy thought Robert was black. He's Filipino. Janene and I were pretty much like "yeah, we'd blow that off, but we're white, so what do we know?" on that topic. I probably would have just said "Um...no?" or whatever, but what do I know. She said she called a friend of hers who's white and married to an African-American and asked what to do, and the friend said that she's team her husband, so just support him. Good to know.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com