Chaos Attraction

Maybe I Didn't Miss Much in BBB

2022-07-20, 3:28 p.m.

I was going to go to the murder mystery pizza party tonight (approximately 6-6:45 p.m. in Sac, before the newbies train), but by the time I got home from work and checked Google Maps, I would not get there before the end of the time. Bleah. Staying home, eating ice cream, writing this instead.

On the way to work this morning, I ran into Jean (actress). She lives on my way to work but I haven't run into her outside in years. We talked about how it hardly feels like we've rehearsed B&tB at all ("am I actually in this show?" we both said) and were juggling doing other things--like she's trying to juggle multiple choirs. She also said that after being out for 2 weeks with covid, she came back to BBB for tech week and found out that most of the adult ensemble had been cut from the numbers of the show. So, not the best experience there. She also said Sabrina was hard for them to cast because she wasn't a teen or a mom-type either (so she ended up with Gloria Rasputin). I said I don't get cast as anything here and she said something about being pigeonholed, and I said that Laurel once said nobody knew how to cast me. She pretty much agreed with that and said it took her awhile to find niche weird older lady roles for herself. Too bad I had to go to work, could have had that conversation all day!

In office day today: trained Vicky on complicated shit (so complicated I sounded like an complete ass trying to explain!), we posted things, answered random shit, did the mail. Most notable part of the day was realizing that I was going to have to get printer drivers installed on the new laptop and the guy I got this time didn't do so well at it. He couldn't find some of them, my boss told me the correct "addresses" of the things, and apparently he didn't read that. He also logged off before I could test them all, so only one of them worked. That's fine for today, but we get three printer drivers in case the main machine keels over and dies on you. (I told this to Vicky and she posted the crying emoji.) The system automatically sends a "review this!" survey afterwards and I was all "I know exactly how bad it is to give a bad review to anyone in the 2020's, but I can't honestly give a good one when only a third of the job got done here." I elected to ignore the survey and instead submit another ticket, with more explicit instructions.

I was going to go to lunch with Rachel, then realized "oh wait, I was signed up for a burnout talk," then Rachel ended up not being able to do it until tomorrow, so that worked out. It was actually a good and reasonable talk (and they didn't send a video later), so that worked out.

Mom called after work to grumble about how Roger is afraid of crowds and thus doesn't really want to vacation or do much on vacation and they didn't do much when they went to Tahoe. She said we'd have to take trips alone, then. I suspect five years into the relationship, the real Mom is coming out, and that worries me. And by "real" Mom, I mean "the one that gets annoyed." Like she actually said something GOOD about my dad, that he liked vacations! That never happens! (Usually she says next to nothing these days.)

In Shiny Unicorns news, the winning plays for the next festival have been chosen (one of my reads got in) and Kelly's managed to cut 10 minutes out of Angels in Riot Gear, so I'm rereading that. I also finished blocking the hem for the Encanto skirt and am now super tediously sewing details into the hem that nobody will notice. Even I think that's pointless, but am doing it anyway?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com