Chaos Attraction

Servant of Two Masters

2021-07-23, 11:23 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Back to Hallmark Movies In Summer - 2021-07-28
Masks Again - 2021-07-27
Karaoke Bingo - 2021-07-26
UOB Karaoke - 2021-07-25
Online Shoe Shopping - 2021-07-24

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I started my project for the Ravellenic Games--a crocheted vest that starts out with a "tree of life" in the middle back of it. That's tricksy, but went well.

Work: don't feel like talking about it, it was kind of as good as it gets there.

I finally just caved, looked up one of the salons online that Loretta said she went to, and booked an appointment for cut and color at 4 p.m. tomorrow. Let's just get this done and over with. Hopefully I'm a whole new person with different hair.

My therapist tried to talk me into booking an appointment with some lady who helps you clear out your emotional baggage, except the classes (or whatever they were) were already sold out. When I said as much, she said "call her and tell her you know me," and I was all "yeah, right, like I'm actually going to CALL SOMEONE, no" about it. I agree with the idea, mind you, but I'm not gonna call and tell them to make special arrangements just for me or whatever.

After work, I went to my first in-person show, the Acme "secret" show I mentioned yesterday. It was "Servant of Two Masters"--if you remember "One Man, Two Guv'nors," this is the play it's based off of. Y'know, older and more Italian, but the same plot. Commedia del' arte or whatever. Truffledino thinks his master is dead, takes a job with another guy, then his first master isn't dead (except he actually is, and his twin sister is impersonating him) and he decides to keep both jobs and both paychecks for as long as he can get away with it, since both are in the same location. Turns out Master A and Master B are romantically involved with each other, hubba hubba. Master A (the girl) also has to deal with her brother's fiancee, who was going to get engaged to someone else except Master A is alive, and fiancee and her fiance are really ticked about this....you get the drift. It's a fun/silly show.

I'll note for protocols: masks on everyone, no programs, people were sectioned off into six sections and I think they only allowed 12 or 14 per section or something like that. I'd guess the crowd was around...sixtyish? I ended up meeting Betsy and Emily from Acme IRL and we actually all recognized each other despite IRL and masks and whatnot (Emily commented she's mostly seen my kitchen!). Emily told me some show hot goss about how they had been having rehearsals outside and people were stopping to watch, and the first few rehearsals went great and then last night had a ton of things going wrong AND one kid rolled their ankle, but they're fine. (I couldn't even tell you which one it might have been.) She also said there was some beautiful serious play they wanted to do, but eh....summer and pandemic needs something funny. She said they sent it last night in hopes of NOT getting too many people, which is incredibly weird and normally what you don't want to be doing in theater!

People have been getting tested and they had masks on during the play (except for the servant, Truffledino, who kept having to "eat food", that one took off the mask at times). I note that the character who's a girl impersonating her twin had a mustache on her mask, so good job there.

I ended up meeting the mayor, who was sitting next to me and we talked about theater shows during the intermission. That was nice. I also got a lot of yarning done, mostly knitting the skirt in the dark.

There's a lovely full moon out tonight.

I read this when I got home (second letter) about being friends with someone after your crush is rejected, and now he feels like he needs to avoid her to get over it.

Doctor Nerdlove's advice: "The only difference now is that you feel awkward about things and you’re letting that awkwardness get in the way of your friendship. But here’s the thing: what you’re doing right now is setting you on the path of losing that friendship. If you want to keep W in your life as a friend, then you’re gonna have to do what friends do when shit gets a little awkward: you power through it."

I don't know if I still want to be his friend or not, though. Or if there's a point to it. There's certainly no point in trying, anyway. If I'm ever having to be around him again (hahahahah no) I could be cordial and otherwise leave him alone.

I do not have enough to say for 750 words tonight. Like what am I gonna say, work sucks and my yarn is going great?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com