Chaos Attraction

State Fair

2022-07-23, 3:33 p.m.

Today I went to the state fair. I had a good time, albeit I finally emerged from the silent disco at 4-ish and it was so bloody hot I gave up on eating dinner there or sticking around for the horse show and just decided to go the hell home!

I am proud to say that I dealt with the clear bag issue well: they said I could bring in a folded up normal bag. I hid my non-clear fanny pack in that, then after I got through security, I emptied the clear backpack, took out the fanny pack and put it on, then put the other stuff into the non-clear bag and then put it all into the backpack. Muahahahah. New backpack worked well, otherwise.

They didn't have too many animals (never did find any bunnies?), or big ol' exhibits of each county. Not sure what happened there, there were like...two? Weird. It was mostly, I dunno, ag stuff in the big shopping buildings.

I did enjoy the display buildings. Exhibits this year were (a) facts about cats and dogs, (b) toys, (c) "Candy Selfie Maze" which was half photo ops and half "just go buy a bunch of candy" except it was almost all candy I am not into, like taffy, and (d) a cannabis exhibit, which I went in for the hell of it ("you look 22!" said the lady carding at the door). Apparently the state fair hands out golden bear trophies for best cannabis. Half of it was facts about cannabis, they had a lecture room area with hippies, and then the back end was products for sale. Hell if I know on that topic, so I left.

I did enjoy the crafts and art though, which were marvelous. I thought Yemi had taken ALL the photos, but nope, she did not, because I took the other half, hahahah. I watched a few dance shows and some fancy cars driving by. Shoppingwise, I paid $5 to make some polymer clay spiral shell earrings, which was fun, and later bought two pairs of hippie pants outside. I wore the peacock dress I got at the Sacramento County Fair and got a lot of compliments on it.

And they did bring back Silent Disco, which I enjoyed. They're supposed to have 3 DJ's, one manning each channel, but I went in there in the afternoon and they only had one DJ on the red channel. I'm not sure what was going on with the other two, who didn't come in and/or start working till nearly 4 (I note one of them had her husband and child in there with her and was mostly paying more attention to them before work, I guess. Her kid was cute as the dickens, though). But the one guy in there, "DJ Your Honor," from New York, was having a GREAT time and playing awesome stuff and pumping up the crowd, playing group dance numbers, and yay for him. I was sad when he left and pretty much that's when I left too!

Rae kept calling and texting allllllllll day (I kept being all "I'm in noisy places right now, CANNOT TALK") and would not stop until I finally called her back after I got home. She REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY WANTS TO GO LOOK AT HALLOWEEN STUFF in Woodland. Like she has declared it Halloween in July and wants me to wear a costume and things like that. I kept saying, "I will be happy to take you to look at Halloween stuff IN OCTOBER, but IT'S JULY RIGHT NOW AND THAT'S WAY TOO EARLY FOR THAT STUFF TO BE OUT," and "gas is too expensive for me to drive over there and find nothing there," especially since there ain't fuckall to do in Woodland on a Sunday afternoon if there's no show on and last time I was over there on a Sunday, things were closed entirely or closed by 4. No, I'm really sure the Halloween stores are not open in July. She keeps swearing up and down she saw a Halloween store there, which um...I highly doubt this. Later this was clarified by her saying she saw a video of their new Halloween stuff on YouTube, which, sure, found that too, but that doesn't mean the store's open NOW. Finally she clarified that she meant stores with Halloween DECORATIONS up (not costumes), i.e. Joann's and Home Goods. OKAY, FINE, that at least makes sense.

Basically she wants to spend the entire afternoon together, which...in all honesty I kinda wanted to veg out tomorrow afternoon after doing a birthday zoom for Jade in the morning, but FINE, I know I won't have that much free time for that sort of thing in the future anyway. Sigh. I was hoping more for "a few hours," but...whatever, sigh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com