Chaos Attraction

Karaoke Bingo

2021-07-26, 11:27 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Karaoke and Delta - 2021-08-01
Microcovid - 2021-07-31
Delta Ruins Everything - 2021-07-30
Back to Hallmark Movies In Summer - 2021-07-28
Masks Again - 2021-07-27

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: don't really have anything to say about that, other than Quarterly Big Project is starting up again, we found THIRTY problems with the 5000+ page list and got....I think about five...resolved today? I eventually figured out the biggest mess of the whole thing and then nobody acknowledged that I did, sigh. But what do you expect. Also, phone training keeps on moving back, God bless Meg and her wish candle.
I did spend a good chunk of time reading horrible scary articles about Delta variant and breakthrough infections and yet went to karaoke anyway, because I'm an idiot. Or alternately, karaoke is so awesome and gets me so high that I am willing to risk potential illness/death in order to do it. And I will note that it's one thing to be forced to give up karaoke because it's shut down for a year, and quite another to consider quitting doing it while it's still up and running, outdoors, missing out on my awesome circumstantial friends who DO show up every week or most weeks.

....Yeah, it's an addiction. I apparently can't give it up even for paranoia.

I'm not sure if there's much point in trying to go back to agoraphobia anyway? Still gonna be forced out (okay, voluntary choice here) for Camelot and (involuntary but necessary) going to work. My boss wants me to go clear out my stuff next week in the office, I wanted to say "so y'all still have no set plans as to how this is going to work but you still want us to clean out the office, huh?"

I guess we shall see. Heck, Jace (see below) told me the info for HIS karaoke place on Sunday afternoons, I'm considering....

Karaoke:

Hung out with Rae from 5-8ish, she is very ready for the Halloween season already and said the Halloween store is up in Woodland already and she's going to various theme parks in the future. We sang "Oops I Did It Again," "Thriller," and "Don't Stop Believing." And had a philosophical debate over whether or not the ghost of Darth Vader would watch you in the shower. I will note that Rae is the first person I've seen in person to notice I got my hair done, followed by Ashley being all "wait, did I miss that?" "Yeah, that's the surprise I mentioned...." "Well, you didn't say anything!" "I forgot!"
Rae's sister Bea, the one that works with Ashley at the FM, is apparently her best friend, according to Jim, and Bea is going to go off to college at Fresno State next week. GEEZ, THAT EARLY? People starting school for fall at the beginning of August is insane. God, I so prefer the quarter system.
Later I did Valerie and attempted the group numbers of "Purple Rain" and "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" (Jim again!). It was pretty much "New Song Monday" for me, why? Because...
Jim set up "QBall Karaoke Bingo" tonight! Songs on the list: Picture, Shake It Off (done), Total Eclipse of the Heart (done), Drift Away (a song Billy and Stephanie were all "why didn't we do that?" about later), Don't Stop Believing. (me, see above), Oops, I Did It Again (me), Ice Ice Baby, All Star, Lean On Me, Valerie (me), Margaritaville (another "why didn't we do that? by Billy and Stephanie at the end of the night), Proud Mary (done), Desperado, Sweet Dreams (done), Sweet Caroline (done), Tennessee Whskey, Fly Me To The Moon, Shallow (done, see below), I'm Yours (the one I needed left!), Purple Rain (done), Party in the USA, Before He Cheats, I'm Too Sexy (done) and Santeria (done).
I got Stephanie into the game and she and I were trying to gear towards doing songs on the list. Jim offered 4 $5 Starbucks cards, which other people won, BUT toward the end Stephanie did "Shallow" (a song she was all, "I can't do the high notes on," and I told her about the Soprano Supremacy!) and "Purple Rain" so her friend could win the last bingo card. Which is sweet.
Also, Purple Rain is a bitch to "sing," y'all? It's like "Just A Friend," mostly just talking and not a lot of singing. I tried to help her out with that one, it's hard!
I did send the photo of the karaoke bingo card to the karaoke group text, which Ashley, Theater Jim and Scott "laughed at an image." Theater Jim noted that those songs are like 2/3 of the potential singing base and I said yea, that's the concept and what we came up with Saturday night, and he was amused. I did note that they had Hamilton at UOB....no response there, of course :P
There is a new fellow, the one who did "Papa Was A Rolling Stone" last week, did "New York, New York" this week. We love him. I will note that he is African-American and after he left, we were trying to figure out what his name was. I thought it was Eric for some reason and others thought it was Ivory and then it was like "Uh, an African-American guy's name is really Ivory?" I verified with Jim that yes, that is his name.
Alexis from Winters (and the whole fam) finally made it to karaoke! I just saw her when she did "Rolling In The Deep," a song only she would do. Very impressive, I did say hi.
Danced/hung around with Jace and Jim off and on. Found out that Jace has some kind of tumor (but he's okay?! I guess? He wasn't too freaked) and some kind of arthritis which is why he has a cane these days, but THE MAN CAN BOUNCE AROUND AND DANCE AND BOOGIE somehow anyway. At one point he dramatically chucked his cane across the room to dance couples style with Jim. It went too fast for me to film but I kinda wish I'd tried anyway.
I seriously touched/hugged a lot of people. Should I be doing that? Uh.....
Walt, Cathy and Frank weren't there last week. Or this week...mostly. Walt drove up in his giant truck behind the outside bar for like an hour and was talking to people. I wasn't sure what was going on with that--I was singing at the time and just kinda yelled hi while on the microphone, and also while Walt and I are on good terms, it's not like we ever have much conversation. But then ah....guess who got Covid last week, he's recovering, so he stayed in the truck and uh, a lot of people came over and chatted with him. I was kind of concerned about that last bit? (Like...on the one hand, he's the one Trump-y I know around here. On the other hand, one would hope he isn't dumb enough to go do karaoke without shots first, or also his girlfriend might say something. Obviously I have not asked. So, uh....I dunno....? Well, he was well enough to drive, at least? How is Cathy?)
We shall see how my health holds up, I suppose.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com