Chaos Attraction

Delta Ruins Everything

2021-07-30, 11:37 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Why Bother - 2021-08-04
Feeling Roadkill - 2021-08-03
Going to Karaoke Anyway - 2021-08-02
Karaoke and Delta - 2021-08-01
Microcovid - 2021-07-31

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

All my hopes and dreams, torn asunder.

Because the delta variant is contagious as fuck, the vaccinated can get it just as easily as anyone/everyone else and the only saving grace is you MIGHT not get it AS BAD, but who knows? Protection from delta variant, even with Pfizer, is only along the lines of "well, maybe you won't get it As Bad." Pretty much as bad as it can get.

I want to cry and cry and cry. There goes everything. So far it's just "mask mandate back is in my county" (and two other ones in the entire state) "indoors," but I'm expecting shutdowns and lockdowns to be in full effect by mid-August at the latest. I'm surprised we didn't get some kind of Letter From The CEO at work by the end of today, honestly.

I'm expecting theater to be shut down by mid-August, both Camelot and seeing Hamilton in September. I checked Camelot FB and Steve said that per the health department, masks must be worn indoors until further notice for performances and rehearsals and, here's where it gets a little weird, "DMTC has ordered clear masks (theclearmask.com) to test." Um....? I guess? Dannette basically said what can ya do and the musical director said his church is considering shutting down again.

Not sure on karaoke. It's both kind of a redneck bar AND (in)conveniently located in lenient Solano County instead of my county with all the mask mandating, so they're not gonna be following those rules unless something changes in Solano (so far, no dice, I looked). But, outside, and it's not like too many people are spending time inside the bar anyway. I've been considering going to another bar I got invited to (45 minutes away), but....the ones that aren't in Winters are all indoors. I really don't know what to do if I'm asked to go back to UOB tomorrow night. That one's not as bad because they have big ol' open door/airflow and part of it's outside, but still. Heck, should I be going to karaoke even outdoors? Even if I somehow don't get near anybody or touch anybody (hahahahah, not happening)? I've been reading all the Q&A's I found online and so far they make it sound like "outdoors, not bad!?" but I don't know.

I don't think I can give up karaoke for as long as it's still an option. Though it could fuck me up for life to go. (Well, masked, obviously. Though uh, food and drink....I dunno....)

I want to call my mom and ask her and Roger not to go visit his sister in whatever state she's in in September. Except then how do I answer to "You still gonna be in theater? Go to Hamilton?" I'm not looking forward to this conversation with her.

Checked in on Dawn (who hasn't been around for a few weeks, I sent her that "Hallmark 50 First Dates" movie I found yesterday), she's depressed too.

I am not in the mood for work. I did what I had to do, but it's a good thing nobody needed me for any emergencies around here, and I was home, because I spent a lot of time reading about how bad it is. I was a bummer whinypants during lunch Yarn Club meeting, to the point where I asked someone to change the subject. Other Jennifer did, and asked the question, "How much would you charge to eat a live cricket?" because someone offered her son $100 to do so and he was all, "no, that's too much, how about $50?" (Later someone else threw in another $20.) How'd it taste? Not great! I think Yemi also tried a bug at some point, like chocolate covered? Then Other Jennifer says she's eaten a worm, which wasn't great either, but at least she didn't chew it. I said the grossest thing I've ever eaten was a marshmallow that a kid had just touched his genitals before handing to me, and she was all "EWWWWWW! Why did you tell me that?" Hey, YOU ATE A WORM....

I've been wanting to go back to the Creekwalk concert series in Vacaville--i.e. what I went to for the 4th of July--but haven't been free to go again until today. I've been looking forward to it, the band looked good, I wanted to just sit around in public listening to music and knitting and chilling, even if I was alone. And maybe sneak over to get some sushi at a place nearby. Yeah, well. You read a few articles about people going to outdoor concerts and being outdoors and 74% of them were all vaccinated and uh....I probably shouldn't do that. cries I'm really bummed and disappointed and there's only more to come.

So to deliberately force myself to NOT go over to the Creekwalk concert, I signed up/paid to watch The Moth "Green-Wood Cemetery Virtual Stage" performance right after work at 5 p.m. Performed outdoors, in guess where! They're so excited to be outside in person showing smiling faces, and I just want to hit everybody through the YouTube. It looks like a lot of people, albeit it's semi-dark there. "Everyone here's vaccinated, so you're safe," the announcer brags, and I want to say, where you been since yesterday? NOBODY'S FUCKING SAFE ANY MORE, EVEN THE VACCINATED AREN'T SAFE ANY MORE, WE'RE ALL FUCKING DOOMED UNLESS PFIZER COMES OUT WITH A DELTA BOOSTER, OR IF WE CAN JUST GET THIRD SHOTS ALREADY PLEASE except they'll fucking drag feet on that one.

I'm having a hard time concentrating, clearly.

Dr. Adrienne Ruth Lotson went from being a sports lawyer to become a minister, had a freakout at a hospital when she sees a guy who's horrendously injured--I won't recount it because I squicked the fuck out--and she starts screaming and the doctor tells her to be a professional. She manages to suck it up, but wonders if this is the career meant for her. "So I decided to liven up Bible study!" and all the old ladies start walking out....She messes up a lot, a lot, a lot. I feel ya. She does, however, get a "thank you!" from the girlfriend of the injured guy. She goes to brag to a lady she knows about it (who keeps saying she'll make a fine chaplain someday) and then it turns out the lady died... Then she starts crying when she's supposed to be speaking during the funeral and is all "I can't even get that right" and I start crying all over the place hearing this. The family wrote her a nice letter about it though. "You're a fine chaplain."

Lana Duffy: ten years of decorated military service, two engineering degrees, and she's crying because she forgot to pack her Paddington Bear to go on a trip. She requests that he be FedExed. This becomes a problem in Ecuador, which has a major drug problem and you're not allowed to accept packages for someone else there. She can't get the bear because it's hundreds of miles away and she has to go back to work. She calls it a "hostage crisis" and she's learned about that before.... When Ecuador says she has to pick it up in a week or else it will be incinerated, "Ecuador had just delivered its ransom note." And she's used all her leave, has no way to get there, no approvals, nothing. I WANT TO CRY AGAIN RIGHT NOW. The lone other woman there catches her crying, so she's forced to tell the story. And then the lady takes charge....she gets a lot of people who knew people, and less than 24 hours before his death, Paddington is released.

WHEW. He'd been sliced open, but someone had tried to package him back up. She sends the "proof of life" photo out to people, which someone posts next to a "Free Paddington" poster. Other guys around her have their own objects like that. "Everyone has a Paddington."

Patricia McCormick: her mother would be "a good mother" except for when she'd lock her out of the house or beat her with a spoon when she was in a bad mood. What's wrong with me? Of course it doesn't stop until she goes to college. Her mother denies it. Later she realizes that she turns her anger on herself so as to not be her mother. "I did give my kids the finger behind their backs," though. She realizes that her mother was struggling with the urge to hurt her so badly that maybe that's why she locked her kid out of the house. Ouuuuuch.

This is a really hard going Moth for me, you guys.

Dion Flynn (also hosting): while getting chewed out for making jokes in the military, one guy says, "We gonna sniff that right in the butt." That did not help! "I'm going to have your testicules for a necklace!" also comes out. Realizes after raiding a candy machine and having "Drill Sergeant Testicles Necklace" approach him, he spits out "I've always used food to deal with my problems" and realizes this is true.

Michael Fischer: was in prison, had to be taken to an actual out of prison doctor for heart treatments, realizes there he's actually treated like a person, so he starts ah, needing as many medical trips as possible. Can't blame him. "I could glimpse freedom without having to really deal with freedom." He felt like a total loser. "Her job was not to make me feel human." Time for him to join the real world. Awwww.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com