Chaos Attraction

Ri Can Ralk, You Rastard!

2022-07-30, 7:33 p.m.

Haven't done much today. Texted/talked to various people (Kelly re: various things, Rae wants to go to SF in October, Ashley threw up after work and went on oxygen, I guess we are not doing karaoke tonight). Mostly I went to the library because I haven't been in ages and had the feeling that there was something there for me. Indeed there was--a biography of Nora Ephron and Delia Ephron's new book, the latter of which I tore through.

I also left the house to give the universe some opportunity to provide me with signs, went walking in the park and read on a swing for awhile. Nothing majorly standing out, but a few minor things--a guy wearing a "Never Give Up" shirt (per my license plate story of seeing an "N GIVUP" one after a night with Scott), finding a "Your Library Loves You" paper at the library, seeing another chalk heart on the sidewalk. Then it was too hot to keep that up, so I'm back at home again on the patio.

I have officially caught up on posting journal entries up through yesterday, so good for me there. I also caught up on the temperature cross stitch and did some work on the Encanto skirt, before realizing uh, I should be working on costume stuff (see below).

Rehearsal for "Fred Jones Is A Narc" was a delight. All the ladies playing guys have skiffy facial hair--Marge (drug dealer) and Trish (Rogers, i.e. Shaggy) had really amusing goatees and Kelly (Fred) had hilarious crayoned on yellow eyebrows. Everyone briefly wore hats--Marge had a sports one on, said, "I figured cute little teddy bear for a drug dealer."

Quotes from rehearsal:
"You're in trouble." -Shawn (police chief voiceover)
"My normal state of affairs." -Marge
"These shiny unicorns, they will CUFF YOU." -Trish

Kelly had hilarious facial expressions as Fred and OMG TRISH'S SHAGGY/ROGERS IS A DELIGHT. This is a really well written play, pointing out all the various "hey, why are all these buildings abandoned?" stuff in this town, how nobody in the Scooby Gang is a drug dealer, but DD/Daphne's dad sure is... I had a good time playing her. I also ended up playing Scooby-Doo in his one voiceover line " Ri can ralk, you rastard!" followed by biting noises. I have recorded that a few times to play in the show now.

I also need to yarn up some accessories--a scarf and headband for DD, and Kelly needs an orange ascot.

It was great fun. After all of this "when to rehearse" drama, I agreed to do 8 a.m. Saturday rehearsal next week since what with the insomnia from hell, I'll be awake by then anyway. Hopefully that works for everyone (except Marge, who's bugging off to England to sing with 150 friends...she said she'd be masked all the time except for singing, I will be crossing my fingers for her). Marge only has a few lines anyway, so probably not a biggie.

I did end up going to karaoke (Ashley felt better), sang "Grenade" while I was there because I wanted a combination of Bruno Mars + rage. I bopped along to every song and got a little drunk and needed to blow off that steam and feel like I was partying it up tonight. Thought about staying after they left, but weird things happen if I do that, so.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com