Chaos Attraction

Karaoke and Delta

2021-08-01, 11:43 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
The Smoke Is Back - 2021-08-06
Back In The Office Again, The Squeakquel - 2021-08-05
Why Bother - 2021-08-04
Feeling Roadkill - 2021-08-03
Going to Karaoke Anyway - 2021-08-02

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I woke up after about 2 hours of sleep, was up in the middle of the night for awhile, and then dreamed that the karaoke bar was closing down due to an impending name change (your guess is as good as mine on that logic) and I was begging Jim to have karaoke at his house. This was far too close to real life. I woke up feeling wretched and tired and it had only been 5 hours of sleep, but I didn't want to dream again after that.

In related news, Jan wanted us to verify that it was okay to perform with masks on. Fine. Whatever, if that's the least of our problems....

Collage group was on today and everyone was super chipper and having good things happen in their lives like delta variant wasn't messing up anything for them. Sarah's moving jobs, Doreen is excited about other places to live, Jade's health stuff improves, Meg is making pots and fairy things. I was not in the mood. I cried during meditation. They didn't bother me to talk much because clearly I was going to be a downer again. I really should drop out since manifesting good things isn't going for me.

Tailwind rehearsal went well: "Now you got the farts" -Kelly "Keep laughing and keep being disgusted!" -Kelly "Fart on, ladies." -me

I also showed them a picture of me from 2019 when I was blonde, Shakespearean and wearing glasses and they didn't recognize me. How fucking weird pandemic has been.

Other that that, I did nothing but walk around the neighborhood (again) and read books on the patio (again) and listen to Camelot songs, wondering if there's any point in drilling that. I also watched some The Crown, which I did not feel like recapping. Oh, and I finished my Ravellenic Games sweater https://fullmoon.typepad.com/crafts/2021/08/ravellenic-games-20201.html, so there's something accomplished today. That and reading about Benjamin Harrison, who is 95% boring as heck. I also entered my work in progress skirt in "WIP Wrestling" for Ravellenic, I might be able to finish it in a week now, we'll see. Stretch goal.

I finally found an article on karaoke and Delta variant:

"Löndahl and his team ultimately recommended singing while socially distanced and wearing a mask, in an environment with good ventilation. Dr Paul Kwak, an otolaryngologist and voice expert at New York University’s Langone’s Voice Center, adds a caveat to the Swedish study’s findings. “You can get pretty loud without spewing a lot of aerosols,” Kwak says. “It really depends on how people get loud.”" But Kwak says there is room for optimism. It’s not the singing itself that’s problematic, but the environment in which the singing takes place. Any indoor venue with poor ventilation and a high population of people will present more risk than an outdoor venue with a reduced and socially distanced group. So, what would a safe karaoke setting look like at this phase of the pandemic? “If people really have to do karaoke, can they do it outside?,” says Prather. “The risk would plummet. It will never go to zero, but it would be better. Inside you are completely relying on the ventilation. Without masks, indoors is a bad place to be.”


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com