Chaos Attraction

Going to Karaoke Anyway

2021-08-02, 11:44 a.m.

I won $100 gift card for doing pandemic journaling. That's nice. Not sure how it works, but that's nice. However, that sounds awkward to use. Like .... I have to use exactly $100 all in one go online? Can't split the payments if you are doing something online....it's confusing. Well, we'll see when I get the thing.

Camelot had rehearsals scheduled, so that's .... still going on.

Today's meeting: Lioness had some kind of Covid scare over the weekend in which someone or other she was around IRL (she didn't specify who but I'm guessing her second grandbaby's biological mother?) came down with it and she's going to go get the baby tested today. She still went into the office though because according to the symptom survey she hadn't been around someone with it long enough to qualify to not have to come in, which seems....weird? I don't know, the survey says something like "if you were around the person for 15 minutes in the same 24 hours," which is strange. Lioness is also hoping to go visit her mother on Thursday, so....I guess we'll see if that goes.

Other than that, they said they are going to keep distancing protocols at work and well, everyone's set up in the event of another shutdown, they said they will check people at the door for the symptom survey, and a reference to going into the office "2-3 times a week" (AHEM) was made. Uh-HUH. I see where this is going. Working in the office 4 days a week, I suspect. On the other hand, they are going to hire a few more phone answerers and things are looking good for hiring a 6th permanent person, so fingers crossed on that stuff.

Beyond that, it was quiet, thank God.

Per reading this article, I went to karaoke. I kept on a mask (albeit an easy removal, 2 layer one, not full on medical/KN95, though I did have that in my purse) the whole time except for eating and used a microphone condom while singing.. I did talk to Jim and Ashley about it later--I guess Ashley warned Rae and company I might not come and they were happy I did. Ashley had on a big ol' medical mask except for singing and kept her distance from people, saying she had gotten tested today (that said, we did do "Beverly Hills" together at her request) and both she sand Jim said they did karaoke on Saturday while sitting outside, so I might do it next week. Jim has also read the aforementioned karaoke article and we discussed that. So I may try it again next week.

I admit: I hugged Jim and Rae multiple times. Probably shouldn't have, but I needed it.

I did win karaoke bingo tonight--tonight's prize: jewelry! just want I wanted!--by doing four songs in a bingo row: "You've Lost That Loving Feeling," "Total Eclipse of the Heart," "These Boots Are Made For Walking," and "Escape (The Pina Colada Song)." I don't even LIKE that song particularly, but made it clear I was doing it for the bingo--and made comments during it as to what I think of it :P And the aforementioned "Beverly Hills" and also "Ghostbusters" with Rae and Laura. I like how Laura--another one of Ashley's crew--is super quiet/shy type but trying to sing and dance along. I will do whatever to help encourage her to get out of the shell, you know? Rae jumped in on a number with her when I guess she was feeling nervous, but she later did "Complicated" by herself just fine.

I will note we had probably half the audience from last week-about 16 people singing down from 30, probably about half the crowd of observers--and Walt/Cathy/Frank still not there-- as well as well, probably everyone who hung out by Walt's truck talking to him at great length last week. Those people did not return this week. That might not mean anything, mind you, but I was concerned. Of the regulars I buddy with, Stephanie was still there and fine, thank goodness, and Ashley's friend crew. There was a crew of what I presume were probably frat boys, but they were nice and super enthusiastic about singing and were nice and friendly to Rae, so I was happy about that. They were obviously having A Great Time. They can come back any time, please. I did duet with Tamara on "Total Eclipse of the Heart" when she said, "I was going to request that song!" and I was all "Please, do it with me!" She's awesome. Love her.

I have passed Rae's mom my number, in the event that I dunno, anything happens, I disappear due to pandemic, someone catches something, whatever. They've got it. We'll see what goes from there


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com