Chaos Attraction

The Beast as Conrad Birdie

2022-08-04, 7:46 p.m.

Work: in office day. Sat through a SuperBigBoss candidate meeting--not bad. I'm amused that she has the same problems at her school as we do with a particularly shitty program (sounds like they haven't solved it either). She was big on getting butts into seats, more or less. I did a bunch of mail stuff today. I went to lunch with Rachel and talked about theater stuff, mostly I just recall that nobody we knew got into In The Heights (except for Judah from Shrek/Mary Poppins, looks like. I note that Loretta asked me later if I was in that show and I said "no, I'm white.") I got library books on Eisenhower and I found some more painted rocks. Super exciting day, huh?

Singing lesson: did "I Could Have Danced All Night," or if you're me, "Um...this is a soprano song, riiiiiight? Like that last note, um....????" about it. Mostly a whole lot of "sing upwards" sort of directional-ness, and my breath control Has Problems and I should work on that. I feel very strange being all Julie Andrews/Snow White-y on this one, but I presume there will be others that make me feel weirder!

I also stupidly said my iPod could update itself when I wanted to add a few more B&tB songs onto it (during my lesson), and now it seems to have gone kerfuckity and refused to install it and wiped everything and suuuuucks. Dammit. I left it running all night long to supposedly update itself and it did nothing, and now the iPod is a brick and I'm having to hard reboot the computer it was on and...grrrrrr. FOUR HOURS OF THIS.

In other news, Ashley called and has to get two heart valves replaced in a few months. She's not happy about that.


Rehearsal: came in around when Scott did, and both of us were all "Why is there a cow in the lobby?" Seriously, a white cow on wheels we hadn't seen before. I was all "that's either for Jack and the Beanstalk or Into the Woods, but neither of those are going on right now." Anyway, I asked him about Lion King, which of course he totally forgot about it and gave me a "maybe," more or less, on that topic. I said "uh, my mom wants to know by Sunday so she can give away the tickets," so who the fuck knows. I've got no expectations on that score, I'm already halfway planning to go see In The Heights instead or whatever that night. I give up, I surrender. I did get a "I'm not on the schedule for Saturday but I'm usually in" answer, make of that what you will.

Meanwhile, apparently the Music Man cast is all planning to go see someone's show and go to someone's party in the next few weekends, so...not gonna be bugging Scott to go to anything else. Probably ever again, really. He sounds occupied with everyone else.

Tonight's rehearsal was the finale, which involves most of us singing offstage during the Beast's death/reviving scene, and then everyone briefly comes out and waltzes, and then Belle hugs her dad (not Beast) at the end, which is weird.

Jared was freaking hilarious during his uh, transformation scenes. The first time he did it he was twirling around angelically, the second time he pantomimed changing clothes and combing his hair 50's style. Me: "I love how we're all catcalling his death." Steve" "Magic Mike!...of all the people I thought would do it, I would have never expected..." Apparently he expected Omar to go Magic Mike?! Me on the second time: "It's the Beast as Conrad Birdie!"

Steve also tried to demonstrate dancing with several people, including Jared. I took ONE PHOTO and he threatened to go all Godfather on me, (Me: "I promise I won't put it on Facebook,") but meanwhile Annie snuck in a whole video. Muahahahah.

Steve of course wants lots of fog and made some commentary about people being allergic to fog (during Spamalot, I guess?). Didn't know that was a thing.

Quotes: When sending in my requisite covid tests, I'm making very strange jokes about being a hostage and sending proof of life and weird comments about eating the walls and drinking toilet water. I said "part of my brain is on random," and Steve said "mine too."

Steve quotes:

Steve: "Why is everybody looking at me?" Me: "You're the director?"
"I heard a soprano die."
"I was going to put this on the Facebook group, but I got distracted by shiny objects, squirrel!"
"I love directing because I'm a control freak."
To Jared: "Can you go die now? Remember, butt by her knees."
To Jared again: "It's uncomfortable? We're going to do it about 50 times."
"Chip comes running in and I break down crying right there."
"I don't remember what I had for breakfast. I didn't have breakfast. I ate at 2:30."
Will Belle and the Beast live happily ever after? "No. They end up in a messy divorce, she gets the castle..." (Scott: "Somehow the curse comes back....") "And Papa's moving into the castle." Me: "With all the inventions."
"It's a Disney ending. You could sing "Part Of Your World" and nobody would notice."
"You guys are not invited to the reception."
On weekend stage building: "I'll be here at 8." Omar: "I'll be here at 6."
On providing donuts, to Alisa: "What's your favorite donut?" Alisa: "Apple fritter." Steve: "I won't get those."
"If you don't turn in a bio, "Dannette will start making it up, and she's good at it."

Other quotes:
Omar taking a nap onstage. Scott: "Our clock is on the sleep setting."
Alisa on being assigned to dance with the other Steve (Maurice) while the rest of us dance with girls; "I get a MAN!"
Annie (my waltz partner) on being told to move up: "I was kind of enjoying this back here wall."
Alisa: "We're all getting a little silly here."
Alisa, watching Julia have to cradle Jared's head: "That poor girl. His head is enormous."
Rachele on the transformation: "I can't even beat up wolves any more."
I note that Scott and Omar are doing VERY FORCEFUL HEAD ATTACK AIR KISSING.
Marguerite: "Chip, Chip, my invisible son!"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com