Chaos Attraction

Sleep Deprived or Covid?

2021-08-07, 10:44 a.m.

So today I got maybe 3 hours of dozing in (not sure if I lost consciousness there at all really, but per knowing I had to get up early, my body stopped trying to get real rest circa 5-ish a.m. and check the alarm clock instead)and about 3 more hours of intermittent layabout....and then I had to drive to the olde hometowne for the eye doctor appointment. I'll note that I rehearsed singing along to the Camelot recordings on the way there and back, so I can definitely say I rehearsed! A lot!

I will note that while I generally feel just fine other than the lack of sleep thing (intermittently vaguely rummy), hooooo boy am I now imagining that various illnesses are coming on (they're not) and freaking out on having a wee off and on slight headache. Which is dirt common for me, mind you, especially in this sort of lack of sleep/up early driving situation, but yeah, "am I sleep deprived or Covid?" is a fun game to play in your head while you drive! I am focusing on being perfectly healthy, thankyouverymuch! I keep imagining that I'm getting a cough while, y'know, not coughing, or feeling choked up while not actually being so.

The appointment went well. On the one hand, they're mildly concerned someday I might have glaucoma and should go to my HMO for checking of that about every few years, but on the other hand I did great on the in-house test I did today AND, ironically, my vision has IMPROVED over the last nine years, she said. Better on farsightedness, the left eye is better at far away and the right eye is better at close and "some people get surgery to get that result!" (Huh? Well, I guess it's good....) She said that I read at 20/40 and except for the tiniest of text (and who needs that?), I'm doing just fine.

I did, however, have to get new glasses per this whole "must use your insurance for new glasses every 2 years" thing, so I ordered new sunglasses. They are hot pink and very Hollywood dramatic...but with all the crap I had to pay for today, was nearly $400, sigh. Oh well, that's how life goes.

Then I had lunch at Togo's with Mom and Roger. I hadn't been there in ages and they no longer have the delicious chicken salad sandwich I used to get (sigh). but did have orange vanilla Coke, so yay on that. I will note that for some reason Togo's always smells quite weird when you're in there compared to every other sandwich shop? I could still smell it through two layers of mask (fabric and KN95) , but hey, can still smell! So far so good at that! We all had a good time hanging out before I had to drive back home. Quote from Roger, after my mom called him a sweetie: "Trust me, I can be a bastard!" I love hanging out with Roger.

I got back around 3 and heard from the eye doctor--she said I did well on the test (WHEW) but should get checked at some point anyway. Then I did a sound check with Kelly and Jackie to test the fart sounds on Kelly's mother-in-law's computer.

Anyway, the play went well, with a bit of ah, improvisation going on at times. Still fun and funny and folks were amused, so yay for that. We hammed it up and all that. Dawn, Mom, and my cousin Linda watched. Dawn said it looked like I was having too much actual fun with this one. Kelly's mother-in-law "loved you, she said the more you laughed she laughed." Best compliment :) Linda's reaction: "Either you genuinely cracked up over the subject or you're great at laughing spontaneously! You were hilarious! I'm just glad it was a device "farting" rather than people doing it! Thanks for letting me know about this little play."

Past Midnight: A Visit With Larry and Viv: apparently about Laurence Olivier and Vivian Leigh, an imagined final meeting between them.

"My prostate has been naughty." "Oh, fiddledeefuck." He calls himself "the pedestrian Larry Oliver." Larry juggles roses and falls over. "You'd break a leg to get a laugh." "I HAVE." "I don't start rumors, darling, I only hear them." "You say you're not fit for fucking." "But you love a wee hours soiree." "You'll always be a part of me." "I want a very specific part." LOL. "We were best when we tried to fuck our way to the start." eyebrow raises "You sit there, limp-dicked and lazy." "Frankly, my dear, I don't give a fuck. How hard was that?" I'm amused that the play has the two characters paraphrasing a scene from Wuthering Heights due to "bad memories and copyright." "I slapped Merle ever so gently." "You claw my heart." He claims she's the only person that made him, a selfish guy, love. "I have an unfortunately gift for flirtation." "Nobody loses their fucking mind because they're in Ceylon!" "Perhaps you and I were sent here to torture each other." "This is not Hamlet! You need to say your words out loud!"

At the end of the play, I found out I was the ONLY ONE WATCHING IT. I felt so bad for them. Like this is a smallish festival and if you don't know somebody in it, you probably haven't heard of it, but nobody in the cast had anyone watching? So sad. Well, I did my best. I thought it was an entertaining show. The playwright said she was commissioned to write it by someone who wanted to play Olivier (and I think they knew someone who could do Leigh), and she commented that celebrity meeting plays is kind of a genre now. Fascinating! (Kinda wish Kelly could have seen, for that reason.) She said she also has 50, 60, and 80 minute versions of the show depending on what it's entered into. Very smart!

I also ordered groceries. I usually order about $400 worth for six weeks, but I didn't even find that much that I needed to (or could) order this time, so it's more like $250ish. Huh. Well, I want to just in case since I will (hopefully) be occupied with Camelot for a few weeks and if I end up having to really quarantine, there will be food in stock. I said they don't have to deliver it until at least noon though, hah.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com