Chaos Attraction

Lusty Month of May (in August)

2021-08-09, 10:47 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Back in SF Again - 2021-08-14
On The Phones Again - 2021-08-13
Fudge The Van? - 2021-08-12
Masks and Theater Drama, Round Two - 2021-08-11
More Mask Theater Drama - 2021-08-10

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: eh....nothing really that I want to say about that.

Kelly talked to Shanna on the phone today. I am not going to get into all the details, but one way or another I think this threesome-ship working on plays, and the friendships in general, are kinda going to end up going by the wayside, I'm afraid. Both for reasons of busyness and well....we're both seriously concerned about her sanity because I gather she said some Kanye-level disturbing stuff. Oh, and she wants to sue her employer for making her get a vaccine groan I hate to suspect something like "she needs some mental health/medical attention," but....really sounds like it. Sigh. Anyway, both Kelly and I are concerned/uncomfortable and ah....yeah, this sucks.

Karaoke: was there for an hour, hung out with Rae, sang "If You're Going To San Francisco" and "Hot N' Cold" with her, did "Cruella de Vil" by myself before having to run out. Even less people there today, though I saw a few return from two weeks ago and that was reassuring.

Camelot rehearsal: everyone's in masks, a lot of people in surgical ones, saying they made their masks wet. I'm glad I went with my favorite tie-on tie-dye one with all the layers.

Another guy has been forced to drop out of the show because he got promoted at work and they refused to let him off work for the show, so we're at odd numbers again. Poor Molly, that was her dance partner so....welp, winging that, I guess.

Brian, my dance partner, is doing a few parts in the show. Here's where it gets confusing: they said he was going to play Sir Lionel. I note that that's the knight that temporarily dies in the joust and has to be hauled in on a stretcher. Brian is a burly dude and frankly, would be better holding the stretcher. So Jan is all "so we'll have John be on the stretcher instead," (I gather he is playing Sir Sagamore, another of the knights.) Steve is all, people will notice the difference. Jan is all, they're not going to notice unless they know the play really well. Me: uh....I think I'd notice....?

Tonight's rehearsal: the big dance number, "Lusty Month of May." Brian and I were trying to figure things out. Thankfully it's a pretty easy number for the dance moves, albeit it's pretty active, circle dancing, maypole, skipping... we were both huffing and puffing a whole lot and it's a good thing there's a "sit and take a break" moment in the middle! Not too much singing for us except at the end, which is good, I'm surprised I had enough air to hit the last note. He apparently has to do a quick change between the last scene and this one, which should be...well.... we'll see.

I will note that most of the guys in this show are older and a few I am rather concerned about. Brian being one of them--well, he'll probably be okay, I can watch out for him if necessary, but Steve's all beat up physically, you know? I am relieved that Steve is not going to be doing the maypole bit. That would concern me greatly. I'll note that his dance partner is Andi and I gather the guy he replaced used to literally pick Andi up in a fireman's carry for some reason. (I also note that one lady, Monica, actually tries(?) to pick up her dude, Tomas, this may be a deliberate stage accident for humor thing?)

(Yes, I was able to write down this entire thing.)

"Don't take this the wrong way, Steve, but there is quite an age difference between Andi and Steve as a couple." -Jan "Tomas and I are like 20(?)+ years apart." -Monica "We're only 5 years apart!" -Andi "I'm not offended at all, Jan." -Steve "You just sit there and look old, Steve." -Brian "I'm not going to have you pick her up." -Jan "I can do it, she weighs 30 pounds!" -Steve

I am all, uh....they're actually doing this?!?! Bad idea!

Meanwhile, we have Dannette, who is 4 foot 8, and probably could be picked up, but isn't....they paired her with the tallest dude. Interesting choice there.

I didn't have too much time to write down lines during rehearsal, but I'll try to recap:

"Oh, that Jan, she's such a biyotch." -Steve, obviously kidding backstage
"I'm not trying to get fresh, I'm just trying to get my ribbon." -one of the guys (Don?) to me
Brian told me about another show (Peter Pan) in which his fake wife was 17 years old and they were having to do a lot of makeup to make this look plausible, and I guess the girl also had a thing for his IRL stepson in the show....who was married....
Don(?) and Steve making cracks about not wanting to touch each other during the dancing.
Anyway, going well so far. People wearing masks but otherwise, y'know, acting as usual. All vaccinated. LET'S HOPE THIS GOES WELL. More tomorrow. I got off at 9, but poor Brian had another number to do.

I will note that per the show's FB page: "Current Department of Health Guidelines mandate that all patrons, volunteers and performers show proof of vaccination (CDC vaccination card) or negative COVID test (within the previous 72 hours) and wear masks while inside the building. We appreciate your cooperation." So, yay for this.

On a related note, found something about Camelot.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com