Chaos Attraction

Cancelations

2022-08-10, 8:01 p.m.

Hey, I've actually slept the last few days? Not sure if it's a new sleep drug or my body is finally over the months of 4 hours of sleep a night thing, but it's nice.

Wednesday: dealt with more holds and Important Document drama, redoing the entire order, blah blah blah I'm tired now. I got a lot done and still have more to do. I also drafted what to say to Interim Big Boss, which is long and probably inappropriate. Then the last hour and a half of work started BLOWING UP. A bunch of urgent crap, a bunch of "only I can do that" crap, and a bunch of people wanting to change their minds at the last minute and me wanting to stab myself in the head. I do not need this at 4:59 p.m. Oh yeah, and my teammates also had some drama because the newest one misunderstood something and sent an approval for something that turned out to be denied and oh shttttttttttttttttt. I referred all that mess to Grandboss to tell them what to do about it.

In my personal life, also during the last 1.5 hours of work: (a) There is some Shiny Unicorn drama because one of the directors has not had their shit together on various things. It's a new director and a new playwright who is reasonably quite anxious about everything. A cast needs to be found oh, like today basically....Like, it sounds like this will get straightened out more or less, but it makes us look bad, and all of this shit is reminding me of work. This is the first show we've done where the playwrights didn't already have their own people lined up to do the show, and hoo boy has that been an issue in some ways, particularly with plays that need to have cisgender men in them (we found a trans actor no issues, but cisgender men? Apparently nobody we know is available?

(b) I was going to go to a play tonight, but it got canceled at the last minute. GEE, I WONDER WHY. They didn't say, but it makes you wonder these days. They wanted me to call back, I did 30 seconds later and then got voicemail. So that went well. Then I found that they sent an email and happily wrote back "reschedule me for Friday," we'll see if that happens.

(c) Then I was all "hey, I could go to Fred Jones rehearsal tonight" (it got scheduled when I was busy) and then found out THAT got canceled. I guess that saves me gas money. Also, it's now drink o'clock with a booze float, while watching an animated cartoon about Prohibition. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAGIi62-sAU That seems perverse. I worked on the Encanto skirt hem, watched yarn presentations from the weekend and read about Ike and Mamie.

Also (d) Steve got free In The Heights tickets for oh, this Saturday night, so Scott wants to speed drive from SJ to Woodland for that at 7:30 p.m. We both agree it's doable (barely, assuming SJ traffic cooperates, I suspect I have done that drive from SJ to here more than he has and I know there is likely to be sloggy traffic) but I did point out that means no restaurant food eating, he said he'd bring snacks and speed drive (fine by me, albeit good luck in the sloggy traffic). However, I did point out that didn't Robert and company wanna go to the show some other night? Scott said he'd check with Robert or maybe we just go twice. So that's another last minute scramble thing to worry about, though I guess it rules out worrying about a restaurant.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com