Chaos Attraction

Masks and Theater Drama, Round Two

2021-08-11, 10:51 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
In-Office Scheduling - 2021-08-16
Cue to Cue - 2021-08-15
Back in SF Again - 2021-08-14
On The Phones Again - 2021-08-13
Fudge The Van? - 2021-08-12

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I'm fine. I think singing and whatnot with a mask on for a few hours may just be having some kind of effect. I have to go home and drink for awhile after I get home, not to mention have some ice cream.

Work: on the good news side, the broken program got fixed. I had to be on an interview panel, which wasn't bad, but my computer crashed at the end of it and wiped my notes. GRRRR. I also had to sit through a very boring meeting about forms.

Oh yeah, and they announced today that everyone has to sign up for shifts every week. And I get priority due to seniority, go figure on that one. We're not doing signups until next week when Lioness (#2 in the seniority rankings) comes back from vacation. I feel like we are going to have Problems on that one, but we have to make it work or else we all have to come back full time, so.... whee. I don't know how the hell we're going to handle people being out for the doctor or sick or vacation. I'll be even less likely to take vacation. And they're so happy to not be "siloed" and have us answering the phones and doing service! Yaaaaaay! (kill me now)

I am also now going to the eye doctor for the expensive eye exam in September. I don't want to do that at all.

Other than that, it's not a bad day, just...y'know, grumpy.

The CC manager wrote back and said she totally understand and she felt bad for asking if people wanted to come back since Delta has gone so wrong. Very sweet.


Camelot rehearsal:

Overheard conversation about someone in Carousel, dubbed "Dead Billy." "Guess who I saw? Dead Billy." "Oh, he came back to life!" Kimmy said that the set change from parlor to nursery needs 16 people--basically everyone but Mary/Jory has to contribute. Kimmy again: "I couldn't put the dog down. So Steve and I and the dog moved a set."

We had Masks, Round Two tonight with Kimmy again. No news since yesterday, no response from the county board of health despite emails and phone calls. I note that she said she got the woman's email...."I didn't get it legally or appropriately." But could not get a direct phone number. I pointed out that the lady may very well get death threats in her job so I can understand why. But they did find out that the health officer is going on vacation next week! (Because of course she is.) So Kimmy has declared that if they hear nothing by 5 p.m. on Friday, they're assuming we'll all have to perform in masks, no way around it. Okay, fine. She wanted everyone to tell her yes or no to performing PRIVATELY by the end of the night so nobody feels pressured, but if anyone quits it's too late to find another fill-in now and the show won't go on and they cancel rehearsals and send the orchestra home, and the board members have to call 800 season ticket holders. (No pressure?) Some people openly said they'd do it like me and Tomas, who said he felt like if we backed out now it'd be a waste of time. Another controversy: apparently this cast wanted to film the show (I dunno why they didn't do that in week one? Or rehearsal? I say this because they film a lot of stuff in my experience, so I kinda wonder what happened?) and then there's the "we're gonna have to film in masks because if we do it without we are breaking the law" thing. (I pointed out that you'd have literal evidence of that too.) Kimmy also grumbled about the "scary looking clear ones--I looked at myself in the mirror and holy heck." "The board were all kinda sort volunteered" to call everyone with tickets to warn them to wear a mask, I note. Tonight we had Matthew--the kid in the final scene, a.k.a. Little Shrek--and his mom there. His mom is a frontline worker and got up to talk about how the masks are for our own safety and "these guidelines right now are still June's," which is terrifying to think about.

After that, rehearsal: the final scene with the kid was rehearsed, a walk on where everyone meets the king and queen, the "Guinivere" song scene.

Poor Joe (Arthur) had on a surgical mask. I'd say half the cast has one, but somehow his just not only kept coming off his nose, but his entire face. Repeatedly. While with the kid, too. I note that at one point he starts out, "My teacher Merlin, fuck!" hahahahah, as it slid down. "I don't know how I'm going to do this. Oh well." I kept thinking, get him a different/better mask? I mean, maybe the one he had on today was a shit one, I dunno, but try something else? They were going to have something called the "parade of knights," but I guess they are cutting it due to lack of people and just gonna do a long set change. Don to Mitch: "I'm not dressing you!" At some point Arthur has a line about Jenny's. I muttered "Please don't all be Jenny's, we have too many." Both Mitch and Andi: "I know my lines in this scene, I don't have any." Mitch kneels a bit too far away from Joe to be knighted. Joe: "My sword is big, but not that big." Out of nowhere, Don notes Mitch's Disney Norway shirt and goes, "Norway, where they rape the porpoise!" (I never got an explanation for this.) Mitch got himself a tattoo of Yggrasil, the World Tree (because he's Norse). Me: "Well, who doesn't want a a giant freaking tree?" While we were doing "Guinvere," I saw Mitch offstage totally dancing it up. It was adorable.

So, whether or not we're doing this show? WHO THE HELL KNOWS? WE NEVER KNOW FROM DAY TO DAY IF WE ARE DOING THIS SHOW!!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com