Chaos Attraction

On The Phones Again

2021-08-13, 10:54 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
I'm So Confused - 2021-08-18
What's Wrong At 8 A.M. - 2021-08-17
In-Office Scheduling - 2021-08-16
Cue to Cue - 2021-08-15
Back in SF Again - 2021-08-14

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

No news regarding the director of public health, despite Steve getting a hold of an actual human at some point. Too late now..... can't say I am shocked at that. All I can say is, welp, you tried! You did the best you could!

We're all going to have to learn to wear masks constantly these days. Even when dancing.

I did draft an email for next week for Yarn Club as to whether or not to try to have in-person meetings when I am back on campus, but only outside and in September/October. I suspect I will get no takers but it seems fair to ask, at least.

I did get a compliment from my boss today--pretty much first ever!--about my being flexible with regards to in-office scheduling.

I had to start on the phones at work. Sigh. My luck has run out. I had three calls in a row where I didn't know what I was doing, but at least the managers stayed on Zoom to answer the weird stuff. Hope decided to go on her own for the time we were put on phones and had one looooooooong not great call. Whee.

During this whole thing they were saying that they put the younger employees on two weeks of shadowing and another week of being assisted on calls. I was all "Yeah, I had little to no training at all in general for the first four months of public service and then come January they were always short on phones and just threw me to the wolves with no training, and I could never get anyone to help me because everyone was either gone or also on the phones." At least these days there's a Slack channel to ask people on.

THIS SOUNDS A LOT LIKE LEARNING TO DRIVE THE FIRST TIME, DONCHA THINK? I got thrown to the wolves on that one too.

I wonder if I'd hate it fucking less if I'd actually got trained and not yelled at and reported on from the first month?

Lots more of that to come, sigh. That'll make the blood pressure even worse. Maybe I'll drop dead on a call and that'll finally get me out of this.

I also mentioned to my boss that they said I had high blood pressure and she was all "Yeah, I think we all do," and said she was in a total frenzy the one day that she tried to go to the dentist during lunch rather than first thing in the morning. Maybe that was it: doing an afternoon appointment and not 8 a.m.?

Femme Fatale Play Festival today:

"The Code Box," about 2 40-year-old women going to the county fair and discovering some guy who is all "I have some device from NASA that predicts your life happiness if you pay $3 and get your blood drawn." This is about as dubious as it sounds, but one woman got ticked that she got a 2 and divorced her husband and quit her job and ran the thing again the next year.

"Cornered." Oh god, it's about a couple in which one of them gets MS and gets very cranky. She can't fence in her real life any more, but she sure as hell keeps doing it with her words and making things not fun for her spouse. So....yeah, I felt rude at the idea of turning it off (given last week's play, I didn't want to be a dick), but it's too close to home for me. AND SUPER DEPRESSING AS HELL WHEN YOUR DISABLED SO RIPS A NEW ASSHOLE IN YOU CONSTANTLY BECAUSE THAT'S HER IDEA OF FUN NOW.

Guess what, when you treat your SO like crap, she'll want a divorce, even if you're disabled. "She was actively pushing me away. What kind of a bitch walks out on a woman in a wheelchair?" By the time the disabled wife is all "Have you ever thought that you're straight?", geeeeeeez.

Once in awhile, I'm actually glad to be single. This play is one of those reasons. Listening to my upstairs neighbor yelling at her boyfriend for disappearing for days and ignoring her is another one.

That said, it turned out that Beth, my director from last year, was involved with this one! An she had on these awesome tie dye glasses! Rene was all, "you always get the sad ones" and Beth was all. you read them and think this sounds like my life, let's torture her more! "Rene doesn't like me very much..." "It's like living my life." Beth said it mirrored her life last year and she had a breakdown for 2 weeks after that... but I got it together. (Anyway, said hi to Beth!)

Tomorrow's work on Holocaust survivors is "another light comedy...."


I'm nervous about going to someone else's house tonight. There's a thing nobody does any more.... I had to remember to do stuff like pack a toothbrush and ear plugs and my iPod and headphones in case those don't drown out snoring. HOPEFULLY it'll be okay since we're both vaccinated but who the fuck knows any more and oh hell with it....


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com